Another small obsession of mine

I like recipe books.
I have a small collection.
Seriously, it is small, not one of those, “yeah I have a few ….’s” and when you visit them there are thousands, hundreds… heaps?
I like to cook, but do not do it often enough to make the most of my collection. I buy two cooking/recipe magazines a month, have an account on the Taste website and if I like something a friend has made I’ll ask for the recipe (specially if I think my fussy, (and when I say fussy, I mean uber fussy) kids will eat it).

I have recipes for Finnish, French, Chinese, Italian and everything in between. Then there are those folders with the cards that come in the mail every month or so.  No, I don’t buy them, I just keep the freebies.  There is a book for ‘cookies, muffins and cakes’, yum, another for Cheese, Pancakes, the Australian Heritage Cookbook, a bunch of those mini $5 books you get from the register at the supermarkets and then folders that I have magazine pages or print outs stuck into…

As if that’s not enough, while wandering round Chickenfeed I picked one up that is just for meatballs!  Well it was only $5, so for a couple of useful recipes it’s not bad.

photo courtesy of Inchmark.

(inchmark)

Do I use them all?  Not really, but I use them for ideas even if I don’t have everything that’s required, or hell, I even just read them coz I like food.  Sometimes if I’m after something special I’ll browse and see what’s up… but then I get distracted by the pretty pictures and the smells (in my head) – wouldn’t a scratch and sniff recipe book be great? –  and the fact they are somewhat un-organised and forget what I was doing.

Should I clean them out… probably, but they take up so little room and you never know, I may need one specific recipe sometime in the future…

I should go and have a browse… there may be a recipe for P & H soup that actually tastes good!

Keep smiling 🙂
there is no recipe for success (or is there?) and the proof is in the eating (pudding)….

Jennifer

2 responses to “Another small obsession of mine

  1. Keep up the good work, young lady! Blogger, crafter, jewelry designer and now, CHEF? You do it all, right?

    Like

Tell me what you think...

