Let me introduce you to Gym…

Ok, so I’m heading into day 4 and so far have worked out my own circuit at the gym and already starting to feel the benefits.
‘Yeah right’ you may be saying. I did start my better eating plan a week ago so I’m feeling less sluggish before I even start which means I feel the endorphines sooner than I think I would otherwise.

First up, let me tell you about our gym. It is in the local community centre, across the road from the school and while it is not filled with mirrors and state of the art equipment it has everything you need to do a decent workout or 2. Numerous exercise bikes, a cross trainer, rowing machine, treadmill, skipping ropes and all the weights & dumb bells you can poke a stick at.
They have several general gym classes available, a fit fusion (some kind of mixed up Pilates ) class and being open to anyone who wants to come as a casual.

There is a key to the gym in the Centre’s office or you can call the caretaker to arrange a time for them to open after hours. Most days the gym is open anyway during office hours.

Costs… this is the best bit. Unlike most gyms where you have to pay a registration fee and then crazy weekly fees, this is simply a per class or per session if you come and do your own thing.
I think classes are around the $10 mark. Average price for a gym class but the casual rate is $2. Yep, $2. Which is to cover basic cleaning and maintenance costs and it’s on the Honesty system. (ie: they trust you to pay as you go) and considering they have just bought a couple of new items I’d say there are enough people attending.
When I went in this morning I paid up not just for the rest of this week, but next week aswell. Paying in advance will keep me motivated to go back.

My routine has consisted of:
skipping warm up – 2 mins
– rowing machine – 5 mins/1000m
– cross trainer – 5 mins
– treadmill – walk 1 min/jog 1 min/run 2 mins/walk 2 mins (or something similar)
– arm exercises with weights:
triceps kickback, bicep curl, overhead triceps extension, lateral raises, shoulder press, and the last one I can’t find a name for, but I have seen it one of my dvd’s, its similar to a bicep curl but instead of twisting the hands outwards they stay facing forward.
I’m currently using 2kg each side, and 10 reps a piece with my aim to go to say 5kg and hold the reps. I want tone not bulky muscle)

– have a (large) drink and repeat.

This usually makes it to about the 45 min mark and I am definitely feeling it. After another week or so I’ll up it so I do a full hour.
Finishing with stretches to loosen up and make sure I’m not stiff and sore the next day.
Always stretch after exercising or you will not be able to move the next day! Even if you don’t think you need to. Believe me, I’ve done it and stretching works wonders.

Before I head off to see Gym, I do my normal morning routine – emails, blogs, FB from overnight (given most of my friends are in the northern hemisphere and as such the times are all out) while I eat breaky.

Now you may think that having breakfast before I go to the gym will only result in me getting a stitch or similar. Quite the contrary. Breakfast is to break the fast, so I’m feeding my body and giving it fuel to get through the following activities. I’ve found yoghurt with muesli & milk (and a coffee) is small enough to keep me going but not too much to feel stuffed.
I then feed the body again once I get home. By the time I shower and then put on a load of washing etc it becomes more of a brunch. Usually a boiled egg with toast, or a small tin of tuna and salad. Good proteins. This will keep me happy til mid afternoon when it’s snack fruit time while I think about dinner.

Main meals, I try to just keep my portions small and have more veg and salad. Fish will be playing a big part this summer Spring I think.

So that’s where I am, and feeling really good.
Thinking I may put hubby to shame. The boys have put bets on who’s going to get into shape quicker, or actually do it the end of the year. And seeing as their father lost in spectacular fashion last year on his bet, I think it’s a shoe in for me. (this is his challenge!! as I know he reads this).

Keep healthy and keep moving.
Crank up the music and dance like no one is watching πŸ˜€
Jennifer

6 responses to “Let me introduce you to Gym…

  1. I’m glad to hear your regiment is paying dividends, Jennifer!

    Like

  2. $2 and across the road from the school? That sounds perfect!

    Like

    • Bingo!! Perfect would be it. I’m also thinking when the new teacher starts up some “return/new to the gym” circuit classes I may join one occasionally. πŸ™‚ enjoying reading about your holiday too.

      Like

      • Not having to run the gauntlet of the normal gym atmosphere would certainly help you to feel comfortable there too. Circuit classes sound like fun too, well, as fun as the gym can get anyway!
        Holiday is fun, not much in the way of good diet and proper exercise though!

        Like

      • That’s true, most gyms are not the place I want to be. And camping is meant to be like that. Enjoy broken hill.

        Like

Tell me what you think...

