I’m bringing sexy back!!

(working title: “Kiss denial goodbye, and welcome back the sexy mama inside” But, c’mon, admit it, you just had to see what it was about)

I wasn’t going to do a post specifically about weight loss or losing weight… Or getting fit or any of those things.  Why, because it is a personal thing. Not one that we should pass judgement on, everyone has their own battles,  even though human nature dictates to us to look a certain way. I’m sure even the cavemen had their partialities (a word?? if not it is now) to particular women.

So if I was not going to do this, why do it now?
There’s something about not fitting into any of your clothes that makes you go “shit, really have to move this arse” and that was essentially my thought the other day. My jeans were in the wash and we had to go out. Damn, what do I wear?! I did find something, that didn’t show off my muffin top or make me look pregnant.. at the moment I am wearing an over sized jumper with leggings that I’m sure makes my butt look huge, and I will go out like this to,  coz today I don’t care, too much.  Sometimes you just have to suck it up (or in) and move on get moving.  Like today when I have no choice but to go out, being the only parent home and all.
There is also a thing called pride in yourself and not caring about what others think, and then there is just a complete lack of care and looking skanky or frumpy.  Neither is a good look, for anyone.
It’s also really sad when you continually wear the same things because you know they fit and look at least halfway decent. Worse still, you have to do this when you have a wardrobe full of gorgeous clothes that you love.  I’m not too fond of looking like I’m fifty (physically) when I can look 30.  Or better.

Sure, there are those that say you should be happy in your skin, no matter your size. (But most of the people who say this don’t have a weight problem and wonder what the big deal is). Yes, I’m one of them.  And to be honest.  I’m not happy.  Yes, you have to be happy within yourself.  Yes, it doesn’t matter what size you are.  But you also have to be honest and get realistic – kick denial out the door – there are some sizes that are just not cool (or healthy).
So is this about wanting to look like the media’s version of what is normal, or what I want to be. It’s actually a bit of both. Ok, I’ll re-phrase that. I don’t think I should be super skinny and look like a skeleton.  I do have some common sense.  Besides I like my food too much and dislike gym workouts generally.  Ha, And there-in lies the problem.
Where was I? Oh yeah, size and the media.  The media like to make people feel like crap and have forced this ridiculous notion on us about what we should look like. What happened to Marilyn, she was a size 16 , curvy and one hot chick!  Never mind the Twiggy era, that would be another damned media issue too.  Why can’t we bring back curvy and sexy women as the ideal.  I say curvy not lumpy and overweight.  Celebrate your natural curves or get out there and make your own.  Fit fabulous and full of curves.
As some semblance of common sense I also have motivation, and commitment by the bucket load. Oh, it’s all there inside, I just gotta force its hand sometimes.
Motivation coz I know I can do it, I’ve done it before, and I have so many pretty summer clothes just waiting in the wings.  (Yeah, just a tad vain here, but I am happy to admit it)
And commitment. Yeah, I’ve done this before, I can stick to a (fairly) strict diet if I need to. I can still enjoy my junk food in strict moderation. And as a non lover of chocolate and other overly sweet things, I think I’m fine. (I know, the commenters are all waiting for that one).  Savoury and salty is more my thing… just as bad I say.

If I want to do this. Then I will.

My motivation? It is only 15 weeks til New Years.  And there is about 17kg to kick out of my life.  So long as there is at least 12 gone I will be happy. I’m not breaking my back here, but being realistic. Lose too much a week and it can be detrimental to the overall goal.

I’ve done it before. That’s why am I back in this boat. Never mind the wagon, I lost that years ago. Kept falling off so I let it go.

Back in 2004 when we first arrived n Queensland I went off to a weight watchers meeting and that was my wagon.  It was perfect.  It took me about 4 months and all I did was walk and change my diet. Yes, walk. No gyms, no running. I walked on average 3kms a day, with a pram, which I’m sure helped no end. It was made easier because hubby had the car, so I had no choice but to walk.

And I looked hot. I can say that now. Wearing a mini skirt for the first time ever and having the confidence to carry it off made me feel really good. And that’s what’s it about. Feeling good about yourself.
Now back to the present…. And I’ve had all sorts of issues this year (damn being a girl sometimes, really) so my big idea of getting fit has been all round the bush and back again.

So what have I done. Well I have been conscious of what I’ve eaten. Considerably less between meal nibbling, well on the shitty foods anyway. Grapes (and nuts in moderation) have been my friend.
And this week is the start of the gym junkie. No, not gym junkie. Remember I dislike the gym, or at least the ones that make you watch yourself in the mirror. Really, why would I want to do that?

Seeing as my eldest has his license he can drive to school and I can pop over the road to the gym.  So much easier to go if I’m already there, than try to work out how to avoid it.

So although there will be no pictures until I have finished, and even then I may not be inclined to share a before one, putting it out there makes you more accountable.  Even though I personally know very few of my readers, so what do you care if I do or don’t do it.  But I do. And if I am going to write and post this, then I have to do it.  For my own health if nothing else.  Getting closer to forty means I have to work harder to …..keep on top of everything.  (of course I could just not post this, but that would be cheating.  You guys wouldn’t even know but I would, and that’s all that counts).

So if you need a kick up the proverbial then here it is.  Getting fitter. leaner and healthier is about You!  And at least slowing down the clock on body disintegration.
Get out there and just do it!! Coz you know you can.

Smile your way through the pain 🙂
Jennifer

(some sort of picture of me back then, courtesy of my brother…. not so many pics of me)

6 responses to “I’m bringing sexy back!!

  1. Jennifer, thanks for the inspiration! Good luck!

    Like

  2. Good luck, Jennifer!
    You’ll always be sexy to me…

    Like

Tell me what you think...

