Over thinking the process

When I first started beading and not knowing what I was doing, I tended to over think the process.  Try and analyse exactly what I was doing, getting something perfect. Following instructions to the letter, and being quite precise in what I was doing.
Over thinking the creation, the creative process.  It kind of made it more difficult to get things done.  Of course, as time went on, I became more fluid in my movements and  understood to just let the ideas flow.

So when I decided to start collage I was all excited about the ideas and the thought of making layers and abstract pictures.  That was short-lived.  The idea of being able to let loose and follow my heart was exciting, but then it became confusing.  Should I do this, or that, what’s the right way to do it??  Collage is a totally free form concept.  Sure there are rules, but in essence, there are no rules.  Having an open book actually made it harder to do something.   I had nothing to go with, no general idea of what to do. I  like to follow a few rules, and then as I gain confidence, let loose on my own terms.

My first few collages worked well. Both were very simple and look alright.  I made a mistake with one, by missing out the middle layer and starting with the top.
The mixed media project for Circles was easy enough, I had my rules (make circles) and time frame (1 week) so the construction was made simpler. I made it very simple and took the title as it was.  Circles on a board.

My new collage has proved to be the hardest to get going.  The sketch was easy, surprisingly it looked half decent. I got the base colours down and had the top layer sorted – my trees, a pond and of course the animals.  It was just the middle layers I was having trouble with.  I was over thinking what to do, and how to do it.  After a little more thinking, eek! and a spot of shopping (for fibres etc of course) I realised what I was doing.  I wanted it to be too ‘neat’ and too ‘perfect’ looking.  Not abstract with life and body.

Before I figured out where I was going….

Duh!! That’s where the above paragraph comes in – SIMPLE!!! or KISS, keep it simple stupid.
So, simple doesn’t have to mean boring, or neat, or anything, but to not over analyse how to do it.  I want a safari-ish scene. Easy.  Desert colours, a small pond, animals…. then make it abstract and whack it all together.  Slowly coz I can’t be bothered to get out the hairdryer to speed up the drying process.  I think abstract is the word and I now have a title for it which is cool.  Oh, I love it when an idea finally comes together.

It still needs some work to go before I am finished, but I am working on a wordy one, so back to the paper and magazines with my trusty scissors (and a coffee of course).

Over thinking causes complications,
keep smiling 😀
jennifer

7 responses to “Over thinking the process

  1. I am like that with anything new.

    Beading for me was no different I want to be so precise it was no longer fun going with the flow much better.

    Continued success!

    Like

  2. This was one of your best posts ever, Jennifer! Nice work!

    Like

  3. I love it — Congratulations on kicking the perfection fairy in the ass! 😎

    Like

Tell me what you think...

