A bad back and a pile of books

I am a bad mother. Well, a bad nurse when it comes to my kids (and me) being sick. Hubby is better at that than me. Thankfully, we are not sick very often so my nursing skills are not regularly called on. Also, this means that very little medication is kept in the house.
Aside from the usual suspects of headache pills if anything happens we have to go and buy it. Now, generally I don’t mind this set up, except for yesterday. I hurt my lower back in my gym class (it was not directly from gym class, but that’s where it decided to kick in) and aside from the wheat pack of hubby’s, had nothing to curb the pain and there was no way I was going to be able to drive anywhere (we are close to 30 mins away from the nearest chemist). I could barely stand to walk, let alone sit in the car and drive anywhere.
Did you realise how many muscles are used and/or affected when you are driving – specially changing gears. Each time I moved my leg for the clutch I could feel every muscle that moved, to say it hurt is an understatement. And it drove me nuts. All day. I felt fine. But just couldn’t do anything. Nothing worse really. That must be what it’s like when you are really old, the odd has given out but the brain is still sharp as a tack. I am a rally bad sick person. I have too much to do to be bothered laying around resting, unless of course I am seriously puking or otherwise incapacitated.

I did not like this, I have a market on Sunday, I have to go. I think I should get some pills.

An early night and the heat pack helped, I felt better this morning. Then I got in the car. The movement of twisting when getting into and out of the car, that hurt. I made sure I brought Mr 9 with me as the bit of shopping I wanted to do required carrying bags, and that would not be easy.
I passed the chemist several times before I figured I should probably go and get something. (Bad patient??) Voltaren, I love you. A hour or so after popping the first few, yipee. Well I’m not exactly doing cartwheels, but the pain has subsided somewhat…

I picked up a lay by of four books… Hmm, only to be added to the pile of other books (and kindle books) bought and not yet read. Do I really need more books. I like to buy them, so I can read them at my leisure. I figure that if all else fails then I have plenty of reading material to keep me busy. I think there may also be a book review or two coming up. I haven’t really done much on that front lately. But then I’ve not read many books either. I love reading, but sometimes find it ‘wasted time’ to just sit and read. I know it’s not, but I always feel the need to be ‘doing’ something, not just sitting reading.

20130309-162736.jpgpile of books that includes two ‘fluff’ pieces, my usual murder and mayhem, a heavy duty piece and then my kindle on the top with several of each genre waiting patiently…
I’m currently reading the yellow book, which one should be next on the list to review?

May your weekend be a good one and pain free πŸ™‚

11 responses to “A bad back and a pile of books

  1. Having spent many years with a bad back I have complete sympathy for you 😦
    I hope you feel better sooner rather than later!

    Like

  2. Private Berlin is good and a fast read too. You don’t have to concentrate on it too hard.

    I had to give up my car with standard transmission and get an automatic transmission. My husband has such consistent back problems that it was a major problem with him not being able to drive the clutch. I sure did enjoy it for myself.

    Remember to stretch out as you are able. Having your back go out does suck.

    Nancy

    Like

    • Have done a few stretches, as recommended by my Pilates teacher, and will continue to do so. We just got a new car with clutch, so really don’t want to give it up just yet!
      One of the reasons I love James Patterson is the ease of reading and not needing to think too much, they move so quickly. I’m amazed at how well he does it, 2 page chapters but they are filled with so much information. I have pretty well all of his books (except the maxamillion ones, i didn’t really enjoy those). And I love the Private series so far. There is a Sydney one I’ll be interested in reading next

      Like

  3. helensadornmentsblog

    Here is your excuse to get comfortable in the bed and read. Hope you feel better soon and The Undomestic Goddess is really a cute story.

    Like

    • Nope, if I can fix it I will, so no excuse… I’m not really believing the Goddess just yet, but she hasn’t left work either… And it’s a piece of fluff, not meant to be believed.

      Like

  4. Books rule!
    And I think you’re a great mother, Jennifer.

    Like

  5. I’ve been asked to start with The Forgotten. Once the yellow fluff book is done, seeing as its not mine.

    Like

  6. Hope the back improves by tomorrow…& fuck you have a lot of books to read girlie..so maybe a crook back isn’t so bad πŸ˜‰

    Like

Tell me what you think...

