iPad = iHappy :)

As most of you know by now I am the proud new owner of an iPad. A early birthday present we’ll say. Bigger than a phone, smaller than laptop and a lot easier to lug around with me as I’m regularly out of the house, often waiting for kids, (+= the battery in the laptop is… not so good any more).

Apple is not something we are overly familiar with, and as I am not very IT wise or computer literate it was going to be fun interesting to say the least. It has been 4 days and what can I can say, it has been heaps of fun. There is a certain learning curve, and no mouse to fall back on (plus the weird spell check) but I’m doing it all myself. And that is important to me, to learn on my own.
Having an Android phone there were certain apps that were only available on iphone/iPad but this means now I can have the best of both worlds.

This mornings blog post was a bit of a failure initially. On seeing the fog I grabbed iPad and went to test the camera, thinking I would just ‘share’ the pics like I would on the phone. Zzzt! Wrong move. I found out the wordpress I was using wouldn’t accept the pictures. So back to the drawing board.
It’s been interesting learning how different it is from my phone. I’ve downloaded a manual – all 144 pages of it – to work through on how to do stuff. The first chapter has helped me with one thing already that I was making look very awkward and weird. Nothing unusual there though.

So some research has had to happen to help make this work properly and also so I can make full use of what it has to offer. This post is being written on the WordPress iOS app rather than the shortcut to the actual WordPress site. So far so good, so long as I can upload pictures. And replying to comments others make is so much easier aswell. Almost as good as the laptop, which is a big thing for me to say.

As we all know – assuming none of my readers live under a rock – a tablet is not a stand alone item, and so there has to be a way to transfer pictures and other items from your PC. Is all very well to just use the USB cable while at home, but do you really want to carry a laptop round when you go out. Kind of defeats the purpose of a tablet (or in my case: handbag sided computer and my bag is so big, so it will prob get lost). Anyway, hubby rings me yesterday and says get on eBay and check this thing out… Ok then. Woah. Now that is cool. A connector that fits into the iPad and the other end will take a USB, SD card and some other card I don’t use. That is so cool, and of course the perfect accessory! Clever people out there. So, all you need now is an external hard drive (being the size of a smart phone, it’s easy to carry) and your connector. Done. Do all the hard work at home, and take it with you. Plus, if you like to take lots of pictures, just pop in the sd card and you’re ready to roll.
Actually, now all I need is a bag. Wonder where I will find one of those??

I had been looking at tablets for some time now and trying to figure out how to approach hubby to get one with out sounding like “me me me”. Something easier to cart around, smaller and lighter, yada yada yada…so how cool was it when he mentioned it himself about using frequent flyer points to get one. Once it was out there, the was no going back. We still have the points, they’re being saved for something else, equally as special.
If I’m going to be honest, as a non fan of apple, I wouldn’t have picked this out first. But, I have to admit, apple or not, I am loving it. It is incredibly user friendly, which for me is the best thing. No tears of frustration and getting cranky.

What is it with companies these days? Why do things not come with a manual anymore? (first my phone and now this amongst others) I am not a 16 or 30 year old computer whiz. I dislike having to google everything just to figure out where to put my contacts…(this is on my phone, turns out I was missing ONE step, which made all the difference)
So far we (& I) have had to google half a dozen things to do something. Really?? Grr. But if I can work it out, and make it do what I want then I’ll be happy. On my own? Even happier.

I’m looking forward to learning what else I can do. Along with my music I have pages open all over the place and can scroll between them now and not look like some retarded person (no offense, sorry, but you should have seen me before I knew what to do, lol)
The only thing I don’t have on this WordPress is a spell check. And we all know I NEED spell check. So it will come down to reading and re reading slow-ly to make sure everything is good.

Happy (apple) camper 🙂
Jennifer

Let’s add another picture from this morning and see if it works.

20120802-194136.jpg

4 responses to “iPad = iHappy :)

  1. Oh, I also “LIKED” Marcato Designs on FB.

    Like

  2. I’m so envious, Jennifer. I want an iPad so badly. I have an iPhone and absolutely love most of the things about it, EXCEPT phone reception is bad. Congrats on the new gift. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, I am really liking, nah, loving it. It’s a huge learning curve, but would be similar enough to an iPhone you’d probably find it easy enough. Thanks, it’s the gift that keeps on giving, 🙂

      Like

Tell me what you think...

