Mid week madness.

The Kookaburra song is well known all over Australia, although to be honest, I don’t recall ever hearing the third verse.

The original.
Kookaburra sits on the old gum tree,
Merry merry king of the bush is he.
Laugh, Kookaburra, laugh, Kookaburra,
Gay your life must be!

Kookaburra sits on the old gum tree,
Eating all the gum drops he can see.
Stop Kookaburra, stop Kookaburra
Save some there for me!

Kookaburra sits on the old gum tree,
Counting all the monkeys he can see.
Laugh Kookaburra, laugh Kookaburra
That’s not a monkey, that’s me!

Alternative verses
Kookaburra sits on the electric wire,
Jumping up and down, with his pants on fire.
Ouch, Kookaburra, ouch! Kookaburra,
Hot your tail must be!

Kookaburra sits on a rusty nail,
Gets a boo-boo in his tail.
Cry, Kookaburra, cry, Kookaburra,
Oh how life can be!

Kookaburra sits on the old gum tree,
Eating all the gum drops he can see.
Laugh Kookaburra, laugh Kookaburra
Gay your life must be!

And this brings me to this mornings picture. I’m making coffee and then that distinctive laugh comes through, very close, so I grab the camera to see how close.
On the power pole at the end of the a car port, two of the cheeky buggers.
Not the best picture, granted, but there they are. And they stayed long enough for me to get a picture.

20140604-075315-28395281.jpg

11 responses to “Mid week madness.

  1. Wow – I’d consider that to be a very good picture! And I had no idea that song had a 3rd verse. Can’t imagine how you’d fit it into rounds. The alts made me smile though. 😀

    Like

    • Thanks, it’s not as clear as I would have liked. And yeah, I never knew about the third verse, and when I saw them, I immediately thought of the first alternative verse..

      Like

  2. First time I’ve ever seen a kookoburra. I sang the first two verses at the top from the time I joined Brownie Scouts. Mom and my sisters will get a kick out of this post. Thanks, Jennifer!

    Like

  3. They’re so cute. Glad they sat long enough for a photo!

    Like

  4. I remember being in preschool all dressed up & singing this song for our parents! I don’t think there are very many of these birds in Arizona.

    Like

Tell me what you think...