It’s Mother’s Day

It’s Sunday here in Australia and Mother’s Day. I’m not getting any presents. No meals will be prepared for me today. I will still be doing household things, and making sure everything is ready for school tomorrow.
I love my mum and everything she has done for the four us kids. I have nothing but admiration for single parents, yes parents. Even single dads who have mostly/all custody have to be mum sometimes. Especially if they have daughters.

Today though I have a different take on it. Mother’s day isn’t about presents and material things. It is about the being of a being a mother. It’s how I feel about being a mother. Especially now they’re teens.

Mother’s day is everyday my kids talk to me. Without grunting.
Mother’s day is every day they smile and high-five me.
Mother’s Day is everyday they let me hug them, without the grumbling.
Mother’s Day is every time they thanks me for something.
Mother’s Day is the odd times they do things, completely without being asked.
Mother’s day is everyday they wake up, healthy, and reasonably happy.
Mother’s Day is every day knowing I have raised pretty cool kids.
Mother’s day is everyday when we poke fun at each other, and still laugh about it.
Mother’s day is everyday.

14 responses to “It’s Mother’s Day

  1. This is the absolute truth of mother’s day!!!!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My mom would agree with this 100%. Great take!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Mother’s Day, Jen!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, love it! I am happy my kids are healthy and happy. That’s Mother’s Day enough. Happy Mother’s Day to you, Jen. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think that’s superb. Those truly are the best presents to receive.

    Nancy

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Reblogged this on bears goats and strawberries and commented:
    My dad is my mom. Just the two of us. And my little brother who is 4 years younger. We, my little brother, and I grew up far away from each other, but were next door neighbors from 2002-2007. Best years of my life. Although, he always decorates better than me. He tends to snoop through my house; I barely step foot in his. But that’s life.

    Like

Tell me what you think...

