Sydney City

This morning I woke to the happy sounds of my niece and nephew having breakfast and getting distracted from the school routine. I left them be and got my coffee, pondering what we (my brother was today’s chaperone) would do today.

Although I have been to Sydney before, going up the tower hasn’t been part of that, so it was something I really wanted to do.
For a cheap, and definitely easier trip we took the ferry to Darling Harbour and walked through the city.
I had decided that I would skip the whole photo taking frenzy I normally do, and simply enjoy the moment. Keep my memories in check to write as I could, and not be a total tourist*

As part of my quest to face my fear of heights I wanted to do the tour where you walk around the outside edge, but we were too late for one, and weren’t going to be around for the next. So, the observation deck it was, and seeing the whole of the harbour, and city from above is pretty cool, by anyone’s standards.

Sushi was our preferred lunch choice and afterwards walked through the Botanical gardens, and around past the Opera House to Circular Quay for the ferry home.

The first time I was in Sydney was 11 years ago, and it is still as impressive now as it was that first time on the top of the Spirit of Tasmania, coming in under the bridge. There is a certain beauty about the city on the waterfront.

The old melding with the new. The classic arches, pillars and sandstone architecture contrasting with the contemporary glass walls and concrete blocks of the new.
The smells, the sounds. Bustling, busy, always on the go.
Weird I know, but I found a certain peaceful, almost unhurried, quality about the people while we wandered the streets. Everything is busy, but there wasn’t the urgency to it like I’ve felt when in Brisbane.

On the way home we took a drive through tour of Olympic Park. The very same place thousands of people converged on back in 2000 when we held the Olympics here.
It is a gorgeous area – wide tree and flag lined streets – and the buildings are simply amazing. The aesthetics appear to have been well thought out, and the whole area fits together very nicely. Far from being a ghost town, it is well utilised with most of the arenas in use – swimming, hockey, tennis, athletics – plus convention halls, stadium for concerts and the Royal Easter Show being held close by each year.

And as I write this, the weather has turned, and there’s a thunder storm rumbling around outside.
Jen

Tell me what you think...

