And so another year finishes…

To put it bluntly, this year has been shit for so many people, I for one am happy it has come to a close and we are ready to turn a new leaf, wake to a new day, a new year and be able to start again.
For some people, they will literally be starting from scratch, just them and their kids. For others, making better decisions, or not making the same ones will be a priority.
The main lesson (for those without personal death and heartache) is that we learn from these mistakes, and figure out how to move forward. Making mistakes is the best way to learn. You know what doesn’t work, and hopefully there will be some fun along the way.

No doubt when I wake tomorrow, WordPress will have their annual stats for our pages out so we can see just how well we did this year. I’m interested in the total figures as compared to last year. I write because I like it, not to get any great message across, or to entertain (that is a bonus) or because I am a budding writer, artist etc. I love it every time I get that notification to say someone has liked, commented or followed. And yet I don’t worry about my most loved pages, posts or whatever else might rank up there. And despite all this, I will be making more of an effort to do better with what I do do. Take better photos, write better posts, make better, funkier more interesting beaded pieces.

According to Facebook, which showed me a highlight of my year, several things stuck out. Not only our trip to Canberra and my fortieth. But family pictures and comments, and that motor bike. The important things. What else is there when you have kids and they ‘excitement’ they bring. Plenty of good times yes, but there was alot of hard times that made me want to curl up in a ball and hide from the world. Soemtimes this is how it goes, it’s how we move forward and grow that shows our true spirit and strength.

This Next year I have several goals. Nothing huge, or life changing.
Nooo! Did I really say that. That is a lie.
If it adds to my life even in some minute way, it is huge, and life changing to my family and me.
There is some big news to be announced. Lots of small exciting happenings. And of course, more kid ‘fun’
Tomorrow is a new day, a new year and I plan to wake and celebrate (with a coffee).
Embrace the unknown.

What’s on your board for the new year?

Have a great NYE and wishing all my followers/likers/commenters, my new friends! a fantastic new year 🙂
Jennifer

Ps. This was completely different to the post I had written in my head, but this is what felt right, right now, so here it is.

7 responses to “And so another year finishes…

  1. Hope you’re resting up on this 1st day of 2014! I’ve given up resolutions as they’re bad for my health. Let’s just do what we can and enjoy the journey. 😀 -hugs-

    Like

    • Exactly. I don’t make resolutions as such, but try to have a goal of some sort of what I want to achieve. But then again, being able to get up every day is a blessing in itself, when plenty of others can’t even do that.

      Like

      • Agreed. I try very hard to find something wonderful in every day. Seems like tempting fate not to appreciate what we’ve been given. I don’t have any new goals for 2014. I think the ones I have already will keep me going for about 20 years! 😀

        Like

  2. What is the right word to express ‘I’m not sure what I think of this last year?”
    In the words of Robert Deniro in “The Family”…I’ll just say….”F**k” 🙂 sorta expresses both good and bad lol

    Like

Tell me what you think...

