Good food, good company…. (Christmas Feast on a summers day)

Here I sit, (in my pjs) in typical post Christmas Day fashion, not really hungry but nibbling none the less. I have a plate of prawns and a cheese platter, maybe a coffee soon as it’s a bit chilly now after a totally gorgeous day.
If there was a plan, it all went accordingly, and us women didn’t have to do the mountainous pile of dishes (thanks guys :-), it’s days like this I wish I had a dishwasher, although there is no conversation when that happens)
Starting at 8 I headed out to set up the hall for tomorrow’s market – there was no way after a few drinks, or the way these lazy days pan out that I would have done it this afternoon – and arriving back at 9 started the whole preparation caper.
image

The boys had the outside job of getting the eating space ready.
Again, it went according to whatever plan wasn’t in place, and about 12.30 we set the table for lunch.
What a feast! Lined up along the table it was something special. Made me think again of those of you in the northern hemisphere and having a winter Christmas, and how it is all so different. After snapping the obligatory photos we settled down for the consumption part of the meal.
image

Remember yesterday’s post about the ice cream cake? It went down a treat, everyone loved it and I got requests to make it again – by mr 9 no less, and no surprise there. Non-sober trifle and fresh raspberries and strawberries rounded out dessert.
image

image

image

At some point, around 4ish, we found the coffee pot with cake and my little white Christmas treats.
image

In all this time the under kids flitted in and out and around, eating not much at all, playing on the tyre swing hubby rigged up and testing out the bike jump. This started early with people being jumped over. My dad even got on the bmx and took a spin over it, without the jumping.
The day started and ended beautifully, the sun was out, but not too hot or windy. The sort of day I bring out the “good food, good company, good day!” Mantra.

So Christmas part one is over, part two will be on Wednesday with a completely different type of Christmas meal. And that is cool.
What do you do for Christmas lunch or dinner?

9 responses to “Good food, good company…. (Christmas Feast on a summers day)

  1. I am now ravenous.
    Nice work, Jennifer.

    Like

  2. whiteladyinthehood

    Wow, Jennifer! I am impressed! I loved your post (and the part about your dad getting on the bike made me smile) It sounds like you have a wonderful family. I just do the traditional ham, turkey, dressing thing with trimmings, but I love to cook for my family. Fabulous post – my mouth is watering!

    Like

  3. Actually, the professor is having homemade Ravioli!

    Like

Tell me what you think...

