Email hackers and apologies

I woke up this morning to find my email had been hacked and pretty well everyone had received some kind of virus (via the link in the body of the email).

Normally I’d not write this sort of thing, but as I have just asked you to send me your details via email, and I’m also not sure if any of you were affected – how this would happen I’ve no idea, as I don’t have anyone’s email – I thought I should let you all know.

If I did you send an email, it would be full of my strange verbal diarrhoea – you’d know it was me and that I meant to send it. I also don’t go round sending links without other info to go with it.

I want to sincerely apologise and hope that nothing happened if you did happen to receive it. I’m mortified at the problems it has caused, and hope it doesn’t happen again.

For those that would like a postcard and are wary of the email (I don’t blame you, I would be too) then please write a comment to any page here (i will be notified) and as soon as I’ve written it down I will delete it.

Sincerest apologies again.
Jennifer 🙂

17 responses to “Email hackers and apologies

  1. You need a cyber-Batman, Jennifer!

    Like

  2. Same thing happened to me earlier this year, I think most people realise it’s virus and stay well clear. Let us know how you get on with Avast, I’m thinking of trying it too.

    Like

  3. Don’t worry about it. The professor probably wouldn’t… But he’s bad…

    Like

  4. I don’t remember, but I don’t think I clicked on the link. So far, nothing unusual. Thanks for letting us know! I wondered about that email — why in the world would you be sending me a tip about a diet pill?

    Like

  5. Don’t worry, it happens to everyone at some point! Most people recognise these things as being a virus when they arrive because as you say, they are just a link, or they may say something like “Hey check this out”, I mean, who would send an email just saying that?! I was mortified when it happened to me a couple of years ago though because I was doing an email interview with a bit of a celeb for a magazine article, and the celeb had trusted me with his personal email address, rather than making me go through his agent, and then this happened and he was one of the ones who got a virus link from me! I was so embarrassed, it had never happened to me before, and he probably totally regretted giving me his personal email address!

    Like

    • Yikes, did you still get the interview?
      And yes most people recognise it for what it is. The that don’t know me so well returned it with a question, but otherwise, no harm done.
      Thanks 🙂

      Like

      • Yes, this happened after the interview had taken place thankfully! I couldn’t decide whether to send him another email apologising, or whether it would then get on his nerves more to keep hearing from me! I can’t actually remember what I did decide to do in the end!

        Like

  6. Kaspersky caught one when I downloaded my emails, and deleted it before I even had the chance to see who it was from. No harm done here. And it’s not your fault! This was wordpress getting hacked. Whoever it was knew just how WP works because they used the email addresses that don’t normally appear in any public way.

    Like

    • Thanks, it was my normal email not WP, I just wasn’t sure if it somehow picked up notifications or something from from there. Glad your system tosses it straight up. 🙂

      Like

      • Ah okay. Damn hackers keep coming out with new stuff. Kasperksy is good so I always feel pretty safe but I’m still careful with attachments and links. Anyway, don’t stress about it!

        Like

  7. It happens! I got one supposedly from my husband! Then from someone I applied for a job from- which I didn’t get- not your fault. Husband has now installed Avast for me too!

    Like

  8. No worries from me girl, I love my “avast” it’s free and it’s an amazing antiviral software, it caught it right away 🙂 Sheesh, maybe I’ll go to work for them! 🙂

    Like

Tell me what you think...

