Dreaming. What does it mean?

20130722-085923.jpg

I read somewhere an eon ago that when we dream it is suggested we only see the faces of those that we have met or know.
How does this equate to our dreams of famous people then?

It was that time of the morning, just before your body knows its time to wake up. That semi conscious state – you know the one, you’re asleep but awake and wishing you were more asleep – that I was dreaming and the comment came to mind. (This is how my weird brain works) I was instantly awake to the point where I started thinking about it.
In this particular dream, there were lots of people and we were all in a room, seated, like a conference or something. Aside from three people (one next to, behind and across the room), no one had a face. The guy sitting next to me, a fellow blogger given by the name he gave me, only ever showed a leg or an arm, and all the others were blurred or I saw them from behind only.

Initially it was like I was in a dream, you know, where things seems to happen in a blurred slow motion with little or no noise, and then suddenly it kicked in. Noise very where, people chattering, chairs moving, food and drinks even…?

It was weird. I was carrying on conversations to actual people and yet never saw their faces, even though we were standing next to each other. Animated, full of detail, and yet no faces.

I have no idea what we talked about, and no idea what this means.
Then the alarm went off.
Oh yay, there it goes. Eyes snap open, the dream just a memory.
Everyone vanished and I was left, simply no where. Just awake. And alone, I couldn’t even tell hubby. But that’s beside the point.

Dreams and snoring. Connected. I wouldn’t have thought so. Again, something I’ve read, this time recently, says that those who snore don’t dream and vice versa.

Ha, really. Hubby swears he doesn’t dream. At least not ones he can remember I suppose. Plus, he tells me when he has a one, so I tend to believe it. Does he snore. On occasion. When he is exhausted, it is terrible, but otherwise just a gentle snore that is bearable.
Me. I don’t snore. How could you think such a thing?! Especially as I dream prolifically and with incredibly strange detail.

And what do our dreams really mean? Some say they are an extension of our subconscious, a replay of sorts of the day we had. I can agree with that sometimes. But my dreams are of the kind you want to hook me up and analyse them. And no they are not always dirty dreams of faceless men.
Do certain actions and items in our dreams mean things. Are they random bits of information that just get stuck together?
Dream interpretations and dream analysis sites are all over the Internet, and some of the answers are, interesting.
I didn’t try and figure mine out, but if you want to see what yours say about you, Google is available any time you want it.

20130722-085959.jpg

Pictures courtesy of Google search for ‘dream clouds’

Have a great day.
Jen ๐Ÿ™‚

8 responses to “Dreaming. What does it mean?

  1. That is so unbearable, when you can’t see right in your dream. Did you ever see Inception?

    Like

  2. Aargh! Tony Abbott has blamed “the faceless men” one time too many and you’ve lost your mind! ๐Ÿ˜€

    I tend to agree with jatwood, maybe it was a dream about your online friends and other bloggers. We are all kind of faceless friends aren’t we?

    I guess we dream about famous people because we see the details of their lives on tv or in magazines so much it is as if we actually know them.

    I always dream, sometimes quite vividly, and often it is the silliest or most confusing dream that affects me the most. I think of dreams as a kind of brain defrag. my brain sorting its way through things that have happened or that are on my mind.

    Like

    • Totally agree with the last one. Brain defrag!!

      Dislike the Abbott reference, he has nothing to do with my dreams. Argh!! If I ever dream of a politician, then I have truly lost my mind. A tad muddled it may be now, and with that I am happy.

      Famous people, I only dream of my eye candy, not your usual run of the mill celebrity, seeing as. I don’t read gossip mags.

      Like

  3. In a way, you “know” celebrities, like you know the cashier at the local market. So that might explain that. The faceless group is obviously internet friends — even if we’ve exchanged pictures, we are probably pretty fuzzy on faces. Any number of great books exist for dream interpretation, as you said, websites galore. I might look into one or two of my own. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

    Like

    • I had a pedantic crazy answer I just deleted, I can’t quite get it to sound right, so we’ll leave it where it is. thanks, dreams of this kind are indeed a strange thing. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Tell me what you think...

