Foodie Friday (lasagne, yoghurt and a curry)

Today is the first of my hopefully regular Food Friday posts.
On Wednesday I tried out a lasagne with a difference. My boys enjoy the tuna bake I make and this is simply arranged in a different way.
Tuna Lasagne with a garlic crumb topping. Tuna with a creamy sauce in between layers of pasta with garlic breadcrumbs on top. Sounds pretty delish to me.
It looked really nice but I’d add more garlic and seasoning to the sauce, and mix the tuna into it. The garlic topping was a lovely addition and made it.
While my boys grumbled a bit it was still eaten. If you want a quick lasagne but have no beef mince or the time to cook then this is perfect. You could even swap the tuna for either salmon or chicken (those easy pre cooked ones you get form the supermarket).

20130719-122709.jpg

20130719-122714.jpg

20130719-122718.jpg

Yo-plus yoghurt maker. Make your own at home.

I had been hesitant to get one of these thinking the yoghurt would be either bland or too acidic. That all changed a month or so ago when I tried some that a friend had made. Oh. my. god. Creamy and light and full of flavour. I had to get one.
Not finding one in all the usual places I forgot about it til I did the groceries yesterday and there it was. On the shelf begging me to buy it. It takes about 12 hours to make a batch so I figured I’ll get home and it will be ready for breakfast. Mr 9 decided on the strawberry flavour so we were off.
How it works: water and flavour sachet are mixed in the smaller container then placed in the larger capsule. Boiling water is poured over the top and the lid screwed on. Into the fridge Onto the bench and 12 hr’s later you have yoghurt.

And I stuffed up, royally (i seem to be doing that a lot lately, the easy things I’m making a hash out of, pisses me right off). Hence the correction above. DO NOT refrigerate until the yoghurt is set. So onto the bench it goes and we will check back in a few more hours.

You can get all manner of flavours from natural and Greek styled to regular flavours including low fat options.
Cost wise it’s better than buying the tubs. For a kilo here it’s around $7 and the sachets are between $4 & $5 so once you’ve made at least three the canister has paid for itself ($22) and you then it’s simply cheap yoghurt. I’ll just buy a couple of flavours with each food shop so it’s handy and always ready.

20130719-122822.jpg

20130719-122828.jpg

Slow cooked beef curry for dinner tonight.
I love my slow cooker. The boys not so much.
The beef is in (10am) and by 6 tonight will be melt in the mouth tender ready to eat with rice and greens.
I roughly chopped the beef and sliced and onion and poured over a tin of tomatoes. In a jug I mixed 1 or 2 tspns each beef stock powder, curry powder, seeded mustard and a tablespoon of gravy powder. Mixed to two cups with water and then into the pot. I’m hoping the gravy will help to thicken the sauce, if not, then an hour before I can turn it to high and remove the lid/add corn flour.

20130719-122913.jpg

20130719-122919.jpg

As I get ready to publish this, the curry is smelling really good and the yoghurt has thickened slightly, (it’s now sitting on the bench where it was supposed to be) but it seems I may be heading out this afternoon so picking up another sachet could be on the cards for a second go.

Enjoy your Friday, I’m off to get pizza bases ready for tomorrow night.
Jennifer 🙂

10 responses to “Foodie Friday (lasagne, yoghurt and a curry)

  1. Oh, yum, yum, yum, yum, yum! I am all for Foodie Fridays!

    Like

  2. Slow cooker’s are the best.

    Like

  3. Hmm… I have one of those yoghurt makers too. Haven’t used it in years. Maybe it’s time to dig it out again. 🙂 I’m not a huge fan of tuna but the beef sounds wonderful. I’m just starting to scratch my head over what to do with some chicken thigh pieces. Feeling rather uninspired. Oh well, so long as it’s edible I’m not going to fuss too much. Have a great weekend!

    Like

Tell me what you think...

