Steak. How do have yours?

Is hubby’s birthday so after dropping the eldest off at school opted for lunch out, pub meal style rather than take away.
Hotel Soho is renowned for its cheap but quality meals and close to the city making it convenient for workers.
Hubby chose his usual fare of parmigiana and knowing we were doing fish and chips for dinner I decided the steak would be it. I always have to rule deciding between a decent properly cooked steak or seafood when we go out. I say properly rather than well cooked – the only way to have a steak is medium rare.

The waiters next question was what sauce did I want.
“None thanks, but do you have any mustard”
And this is where I get confused. Does no one eat mustard with their steak anymore?
Every time I ask this question, I get the same response. A confused look as though I was talking Chinese.
“I will ask and if we have it I’ll bring it out”
Now seriously, what pub or restaurant doesn’t have mustard in their kitchen?
I like mustard with my steak with a hot mustard. Steak is best pure with one simple condiment, and not drenched in some kind of sauce. Yeah, I could ask for less or on the side, but I prefer none.
The steak was perfectly done and came with a lovely mild mustard.

Tell me, how do you like your steak, and does it need sauce (which one/s) or is mustard the only way to go.

21 responses to “Steak. How do have yours?

  1. Here in England we are known for having horseradish with our beef, but a good old english mustard works as well 🙂

    Like

  2. I haven’t had a steak in years!
    Sad, but true.

    Like

  3. Have you ever been to Outback Steakhouse? 😉

    Like

  4. I too like my steak medium rare. I cannot for the life of me fathom why anyone chooses to order their steak well done. I wouldn’t generally think of having mustard with steak, but I would like it if I did have it. I prefer horseradish to mustard though in general with beef. But my favourite accompaniment to steak is blue cheese, not a sauce, but just crumbled over the top at the end of the cooking, so that it doesn’t completely melt, but just warms and softens. I want that now! I don’t generally order a sauce with my steak, but there is one place I’ve been to a few times that does a Jack Daniels sauce for steak which is pretty good, I don’t pour it over though, I leave it in the little pot and just dip in.

    Like

    • You and me both. Well done steak only equals tough old boots.
      You mention horseradish, hate the stuff, but apparently it’s an ingredient in most mustards… hmmm. Blue cheese on steak sounds pretty good, I might have to find a place that does it, or get some myself for next time I have it at home.
      Sauce here for your steak means drowning it, there is no putting it in a pot. All or nothing for sauce.

      Like

  5. First off you are clearly an Aussie….mustard on steak??? What next beets on your hamburger 😉

    But the real answer is; always choose seafood over steak 🙂

    Like

    • Was there ever any doubt to my heritage? And it has to be hot English mustard at that. I like it spicy ;-). Beets on hamburgers. Of course! Makes it taste better.
      Seafood only wins if the choice is better – salmon for instance.

      Like

Tell me what you think...

