Identifying as such

A short while ago I did a post about creative writing and how I don’t class myself as a writer. The responses got me thinking as to how I see myself and how others might see me. I took all these comments on board and have been thinking about it on and off since. I will admit that at first, I was annoyed at what was said, but after some contemplation, it is purely how others see me, and not a reflection of me personally.
I realised that as our opinions are based on our experiences, how I see myself as compared to how others see me (even through writing on a screen) is neither right nor wrong. They are just different aspects of the same person. Of course I have always known this, but it’s been some time since I’ve really thought about it.

I came to the conclusion also, that what we think we are or are not comes down to what we identify with. Being good at something or having the potential does not mean we identify that and call ourselves a “….” It simply means we are good at it. So I write well and if I put my mind to it, I could be a writer. That’s all well and good, but I don’t identify with that persona.
For me, calling oneself something is identifying with it on a level that requires a passion, a need, a yearning almost, to live and breath it. I don’t get that with writing. Not identifying with something doesn’t mean you’re not, it’s just how you see yourself. And that is the important thing.

What do I identify with? Photography and beading. Absolutely.
While I am definitely not a great photographer, everywhere I go I see things that would make great pictures. Whether in my way of seeing things, or a standard postcard snapshot. I see pictures everywhere. I don’t always have the opportunity to make it happen, but it is there. I yearn for a more physical type of creativity, rather than the mental. Take the other night where I went on a baking frenzy. I had been busy all day but once I stopped, had the need to do something. And writing it was not. If my room was tidier, or it was daylight I may well have sat and played with beads or taken my camera out.

I enjoy writing, and several locals here have even told me they love what I write and how well I do it. But it is easy when it is not about you, and is something you love. I will be re writing those poems and short stories because I like what I am reading and want to make them better. Because I can. Because I want to.

What do you identify as? Would you say others agree with you, or not?
(I’m not a writer, really)

Jennifer πŸ™‚

9 responses to “Identifying as such

  1. For 50 years, I identified myself as sick, and sad. Not as any one thing I did, unless it was word processing, at which I was good and fast. Now, I do consider myself a writer. Not professional, not published, not too inspired with story lines, but writing is what I do, and I can’t imagine doing anything else. I think you are a Renaissance woman, Jennifer — good at anything you turn your mind too.

    Like

    • Renaissance woman?! Thank you, I’ve heard it before but not quite like that. Makes it sound much cooler than the other. And identifying oneself on the other side – the personal side that is detached from all else – is quite something else. W are lucky in this day, that we are able to identify as so much more than just wife and mother. They are so much more intertwined with our other identities that the lines are blurred.
      I just had this idea – right as I’m writing this – that maybe I’m not willing to identify as a write as it means I will feel pressured (my own doing, not anyone else’s) to do something amazing with my blog or what I write. And maybe I’m just not ready for that.

      Thanks for your thoughts. The more people talk to me, the more I have to think about this whole thing.

      I’m glad you now identify as much more than a sick person. You are definitely much better than that person πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Well, Jennifer, my friend, I certainly understand that need to identify with that for which we have passion. Both your photography and your beads are beautiful — I think you have reason to identify with either of those activities. I think, for what it’s worth, your talent for writing is equal to those, but what matters is what and who you want to be. Maybe a photobeadingwriter — or anything else you decide that you love. I would add chef, or at least baker. Moreover, nothing says that, if you identify with one thing now, that you have to stick with that your whole life. You could change minute by minute or year by year or not at all — you are so much more than any one label. Next time someone tells you who you are, you speak right up and say Thanks, but I’m the only one who can make that decision, and I am just not to het up about the whole thing. (Het up = Maine talk for upset.) Whoever you decide to be, you will always have a friend on the other side of the world who loves you very much. 😎 ❀

        Like

      • Thank you so much, maybe you should add philosopher to your list? I agree, only I can say who I am, and what I want to be. Is my choice. What I feel now I may not feel in a few years, I absolutely know that, and I am quite open to change. While still the same person I was before we left Tas, a new me returned to Tas. Change is good, embracing it is even better.
        I am who I want to be, regardless of what others think I am.
        Thanks Judith πŸ™‚ ❀

        Like

      • Terrific, my friend!

        Like

  2. You’re definitely a writer, Jennifer.
    Keep going!

    Like

    • Thanks. My eldest thinks so too. He said to me, on reading one post, that I use big words can I do his English essays for him. Yeah, not likely. (All my boys are good at math, I got to keep the English side of it) πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I think it is great that you identify yourself as photographer and beader. I am of the generation that struggles to get beyond, wife and mother! I think I would say that I am one of life’s triers! And sadly once you are over a certain age and female , no-one notices anymore what you are, you are invisible!

    Like

    • I can see your point there. Different generations have set points of reference for who we are as a person and thankfully we have changed enough, that we can be who we want to be – as well as a mother and wife – though I have no problem with being seen as a wife and mother.
      As for disappearing once you are a certain I don’t think that’s is right, we just change our position in life to reflect a new person. I did read about this subject somewhere today (blog or FB I’m not sure). That once we get past a certain point we fail to be seen, as compared to being a 20 something, a family 30 something etc etc.

      Thanks for coming over and for your input πŸ™‚

      Like

Tell me what you think...

