The secret thoughts of cherry tomatoes

I’m sure, just like the chickens in the movie Chicken Run, that they are well organised and planning their escape as I type. After all they nearly got away from me today.

20130523-160704.jpg

I was in the supermarket grabbing a few items and more veges, hunting for the punnet with the best tomatoes. After looking at up to a dozen I found one.

And the the trouble started.
I must have over reached the trolley, the edge of the lid barely scraped the trolley and….
FREEEEEE!!!!
A glorious shower of tomatoes went flying across the floor.

After my initial shock, “shit” I stood there and giggled like a five year old. Looking up I saw two older ladies had seen it all and were laughing as well.

We picked up as many as we could find, and then I had to go looking for more nice ones. Their trip to my trolley was slower and more careful.

The great escape was foiled – for today anyway as they ended up in the doghouse bin.

We passed again in the baking aisle where I was next to the flour – one of them grinned and said she’d give me a wide berth. 😉

7 responses to “The secret thoughts of cherry tomatoes

  1. Hee, hee, hee, hee!

    Like

  2. whiteladyinthehood

    Cute story! (and I love tomatoes!!) I can’t wait to visit our local farmer’s market soon.

    Like

  3. .I do all the cooking for my family and a few years ago i told my wife i was switching to ‘nothing but fresh’ so I go to the market every afternoon to pick up fresh produce for our evening dinner….well…anyways…I’ve dropped vegetables on the floor at the market so many times i’ve lost count….

    but you are a more decent person than I because i generally just leave it there and don’t bother to pick it up 😦 …so okay…i’m a d**k but at least I admit it…..admitting it is good for something isn’t it?

    Like

  4. You just can’t trust produce these days…

    Like

Tell me what you think...

