Raspberry custard meringue tart

I had one of those crazy baking moods this evening. Which was to be expected really after spending the day steering wayward clothes, shoes and other paraphernalia in the right direction. I needed some creative outlet from that.
So while I’m roasting spuds, and attempting to make chicken burgers I also made an apple lattice pie, and cooked up some raspberries ready to make something out of.
20130520-221329.jpg
Apple pie
20130520-221826.jpg

    This was really nice, and the recipe is just a basic thing from my favourite website.

    The raspberries proved to be something else again, recipe wise. I looked for a basic pie or tart but all I found was custard or frozen ice cream desserts. It would have to be custard then.
    Not finding what I wanted I decided to do my own thing.
    So a raspberry custard meringue pie as compared to a lemon meringue pie….

    The pastry is neat this time round although it shrunk a bit too much on blind baking.
    20130520-222056.jpg

    20130520-222501.jpg

    (Note: don't try and eat ceramic pastry weights like my sister did, they're not so good and you might break your teeth).
    20130520-222733.jpg
    Does this look like I would keep food in here..?

    Pastry is done, and I filled it with thick home made custard and stuffed it in the fridge (for once there is no room to move in there) while I heated the raspberries that I had cooked, sweetened and thickened.

    20130520-223238.jpg

    The raspberry gloop was poured carefully onto the custard and refrigerated once again while I made the marriage. Egg whites and sugar. Nasty stuff but oh so tasty.

    20130521-064711.jpg

    Into the oven with its glossy meringue topping – not as stiff as it should be.

    And all cooked. The proof will be tomorrow when I cut it open.

    20130520-223517.jpg

    Enjoy 🙂
    Jen

    *update*
    This morning I found a sticky mess on the bench which resulted from the raspberries maybe being a little runny, and the pastry was well soaked in the juice. While it tasted alright, aesthetically it ruined the look. Definitely something to either fix or eat as soon as it’s made.
    The verdict: 3 + me had a piece, and I was told I could cook more of those any time I wanted. I’ll go with a review like that any day. I liked the minor tartness the raspberries still had that went perfectly with the sweetness of the meringue and creamy custard base.

    20130521-132347.jpg

5 responses to “Raspberry custard meringue tart

  1. What a lovely tart! The dessert is beautiful, too! (Who said that?) Seriously, you have a strong creative vein running all through you, and I feel very lucky to see the results! Big smiles! 😀

    Like

Tell me what you think...

