It was both a journey and a destination

Last night I was achy and tired, and had the best sleep.
Yesterday. I. Had. A. Ball.

There is something incredible about the feeling of liberation and the sense of freedom that comes from being on the back of a motor bike. You are at one with nature. There is nothing between you and the great outdoors. The smell of wet grass and dewy trees. Your sense of smell is enhanced somewhat, until you get the whiff of dead animals and petrol fumes. Then you realise exactly just how close you are to nature.

We had borrowed a bike and some gear and after a test ride on Wednesday to see how I went, took a little ride. Just a short 500 km ride. Which took us all day. Sure I was tired exhausted, but it was worth every last-minute of it. The bike we borrowed – from Dad. A Suzuki GS500

20130412-165601.jpg
I am hooked!

It was 20 years ago. He was 19, I was 17. Hubby had been riding bikes for years and had loads of experience, I had none. At. All. So when he took me for a ride, not thinking about this rather important fact it didn’t turn out so well. I have not wanted to get back in the saddle since. What happened? Let’s say when you take someone for their first bike ride, you don’t take it at obscene speeds down the road and scare the bejeezers out of them. He didn’t understand why I was bawling when the helmet came off.
He has since matured and I have since come to like the bike thing, after dealing more with it Mt Isa and even having a go at riding myself. Yeah, I’m happy to be the passenger
.

I was surprised at how comfortable it is to ride pillion and hang onto that tiny little handle behind the seat. Relaxing almost. I mean that in the most basic way of course. Obviously you can’t just lean back and go to sleep, but relaxing none the less. Even hanging on is not a hard thing, it’s more for the stability and a knowing you have that safety net (and of course when cornering).
Riding along, it was so normal, comfortable and just.. felt right.

So where did we go that took up 500 km’s? The question was south or east. We’ve done south quite a bit recently, (in the car) so east to Orford it was, a destination just over an hour from Hobart. Then Ross was mentioned. And the first thing I said was… “scallop pie. That’s where we’ll have lunch..”

20130412-165049.jpg
Leaving town mid morning, we headed to Ross first, arriving just before 1. By the time we got there fatigue had set in, for both of us. That last fifteen km felt like forever. And while hubby has ridden plenty of times, it was the longest he had ridden with a passenger.

Sliding off the bike, I certainly wasn’t very graceful, and removing helmet and jacket was bliss. Commandeering an outside table we wandered in to see what lunch would consist of. For me, the scallop pie, a wagon wheel, coffee and juice. Hubby chose the chocolate milk, a potato pie and pastie, a kiss biscuit and the obligatory chocolate bar.
Now normally I eat nicely? neatly? slowly even, but I must have been hungry as that pie was inhaled before hubby had finished his first.
Ross is well known for its scallop pies, the scallop pie centre of Tas, and everyone raves about them. To be honest, and while I have nothing else to compare it to, it was average. Tasty. Yes. Juicy plump scallops filled the crust but I found the curry sauce was bland. Their pastry is perfect. Properly cooked, so none of those uncooked gluggy patches, and not so flaky that you end up wearing more than you eat. I would have liked it to be a bit deeper, or higher, a few more mouthfuls would have been better. Would I go again. Absolutely. But would I get their scallop pie? Probably not. I have been told there are some amazing ones in Richmond, so that will be my next venture out. Parked outside the bakery.

20130412-170748.jpg

A relaxing break and we are back on the bike for the next step. Ouch, my arms hurt. Not for long. after five or ten minutes your muscles realise nothing will change and settle in for the long haul.
Ross to Orford. Via the back roads, which turned out to include a large section of dirt road. Not a very comfy ride at all. Stopping at Buckland on the main highway for petrol, it was a mere 15mins onwards to Orford.
20130412-165251.jpg
From Orford you can see Maria (Ma-rye-ah) island, as per the map.
We arrived here just after 3pm and after a drink and a couple of pictures decided to head home. Not quite 2 hours away.

20130412-165352.jpg
Having a drink at Orford beach, wearing dad’s jacket and boots.

20130412-165811.jpg
By this time the nice sunny weather was slowly disappearing and the wind chill factor had been turned to icy. Any shadowy roads were freezing and by the time we got back to the city at 4.30, the afternoon traffic was building up.
Hubby said to me last night (or this morning, I can’t remember now) that he was nervous riding through the traffic in town because I was n the back. I found it amusing as I was having a ball, your perceptions are changed by sitting on the bike, and I was seeing so many more things I just hadn’t noticed before. It’s a whole new way of looking at things. I wasn’t feeling nervous, just excited, and a little tired.

As with any long trip, you get to a point on the way home (within around 30min/km) where the tiredness kicks in, and your thoughts turn to “so close, yet still so far”.
While I had had a ball, I was more than ready to get home. Which makes the fact I couldn’t get off the bike when we got there, funnier. “I’m stuck” as I tried to move and not fall off.
Standing inside it took a bit for the shivers and shakes to stop and for me to relax.
This morning, I felt really good. Much better than I anticipated, and my stretch class loosened any kinks out.

I can’t wait to get my own bike gear now and do it all again. But that will have to wait, boots, jacket, helmet… not cheap.

Is it time you let your inner bikie out?
Jennifer 🙂

16 responses to “It was both a journey and a destination

  1. Girl, you know me and my Harley Guy!!! 🙂 Good for you for gettin’ back on!

    Like

    • It was just the right time. Everything fell into place. And I was ready, after Isa – sitting in front of Lance on his bike doing the gears, hurtling through the bush…. that was so much fun.

      I’d like to give a Harley a go one day though…

      Like

  2. You’re so cool, Jennifer!

    Like

  3. What a wonderful day! I had to laugh, though — My first husband had a big Kawasaki, and he fitted it with a big sissy bar and another set of foot pegs further forward. He would ride with his feet up on the forward pegs, I would lean back with my feet on his, and sleep the 6 hours from here to his parents’ house, way up in the county in Northern Maine. Of course, I was insane then — a halter and shorts, flipflops, and a kerchief in my hair. What an idiot I was then. But I know the feeling you describe, and I love it!

    Like

  4. Hee hee! It has been a long time since the Man and I have been on one of those loooong rides. Since Number 1 came along funnily enough!

    Ah, I remember those days, no feeling below the waist and still miles from home. 🙂
    Good on you for braving it again after your first experience!

    Like

    • Well, after 20 years I figured I should give it another go. And up until about 6 years ago, bikes weren’t part of the family equation, so I didn’t have to worry.

      Hubby is not a fan of long straight roads, he much prefers the corners, so I can’t see us doing one of those trips again for a while, not unless we have a bigger bike (which will come eventually).

      What sort of bike did/do you guys have?

      Like

      • We still have the Harley from all those years ago, a 1976 shovelhead, last of the REAL motors… (Showing my bogan colours there 😉 ) Although, recently an old Yamaha has been added to the collection too. We are big fans of corners too, straight is boring!

        The bike has been safely stowed in the shed for a while now, the kids aren’t kids for long, we’ll have time to ride again when they grow up. 🙂

        Like

      • I don’t know much about bikes, but Harley’s always look good. and you’re either a harley person or not, hubby is not so much.
        And my kids are nearly grown already. Bring it on. Plenty of time to ride coming up.

        Like

      • I think the old Harleys look good, not loving the new ones as much though… 🙂 I think that once he retires the Man will be completely torn between the bike and the caravan!

        I fully expect that his retirement car will be a 4wd ute that can tow the caravan with the bike on the back so he gets the best of both worlds! 🙂

        Like

      • That would be the prefect retirement!

        Like

Tell me what you think...

