Happy Easter – Swiss roll style

I was tempted to not actually post this, but if I can’t share my failures as well as my triumphs, then that’s a bit of fail too. Life is not always happy and sweet.

It’s the day that Russell has been looking forward to. Well I hope he has, he says I’m on his radar after I inadvertently opened my big mouth and said I would do this. Now, sure I am allowed to not do anything, take it all back, decide not to, all of the above. But when I’ve said I’m going to do something, even for a bloggy friend who won’t even be able to try it for himself, I still feel that obligation to do it.
A week or so ago Russell from The Very Best Top 10, posted about Swiss rolls, I suddenly decided I would bake one. For Easter, and I told him this. ~if only I had not said anything~

After chatting with mum, we decided that the kids and I would visit for afternoon tea on Sunday (today) and I would bring the food. Included will be fresh raspberries from their garden.

I hunted out a recipe from one of my favourite books – Chocolate Raspberry Swiss Roll – and I think I’m set to go.

~insert time lapse here ~

That was so easy, although I realise now it should be made and assembled as soon as you want to serve it. Not 3 hrs ahead of time. But anyhoo. It worked. One end has broken off but we can deal with that. I don’t think I left it long enough after baking before trying to roll it. Oops.
Whip cream, add grated chocolate and raspberries and re roll then serve.

~ insert another time lapse here ~

Ok, let’s just skip the raspberries and make a white chocolate whipped cream and be done with it. The cake is broken in two parts now – what’s that saying about not trying out a new recipe when guests are coming, coz it’s destined to fail… –

So I now present you with my Easter chocolate Swiss roll.

20130331-124020.jpg

20130331-124012.jpg

Tell me what you think...

