Peppermint bay – a slice of Paradise

I had been hanging out all week waiting and hoping with every rain drop that it would leave us in peace just for an hour. I was meeting a friend for lunch and sitting outside is much preferable to being inside, it’s not yet winter and I love to make the most of outside eating while I can.
Our destination? Peppermint Bay. Just up the road in Woodbridge which I’ve only visited once since it was built in 2003, and that was twelve months ago. Read about it here.

20130322-211011.jpg The front door.

20130322-211106.jpg Looking towards the main restaurant from the lawns, with the water behind me.

Back when it was built we were in no position to be eating out with 2 young kids and a less than ideal income. Fast forward 9 years and all I am hearing is that it’s way too expensive and all I should get in a coffee and muffin. Hmm? My American friend and I took the all-inclusive ferry and lunch deal (special lunch made just for ferry patrons) but I have not ventured in on m own until a month ago. After gym class one day (today’s) friend asked if I would like to join them for lunch, I said yes to a coffee, the ominous warning still ringing in my ears.
Boy did I get a surprise. Not only was the lunch menu good value it is cheap enough to have a special treat each month without feeling too guilty. A variety of side dishes, small mains and a good selection of kids meals all at very reasonable prices. Nothing really over the $20-25 mark.
I tried their fries which came with the most amazing aioli – my friend said she could lick it straight out of the bowl, and after trying it, believe I would too – and the side of green veges. Oh. My.god. Crunchy vegetables with a (non creamy) lemon sauce, divine! Call me sad, but I’m a vege nazi, love them!

It had been a good month since I had last been and my friend was no longer doing gym class with me, so we organised to have lunch and catch up.
It had been on my mind to order the salad she normally has. Ocean trout salad. I had had a taster and was aching to have a whole one to myself.
Once ordered we sat back and chatted until our meals came.
Doh. Now I want to write, do you think I can remember the name of her dish. Nope. Salted fish bites of some sort essentially. I shared a half one and it tasted heavenly. Light, creamy flavour, not too many herbs and a texture that was rather like mashed potato. It arrived on a board smothered in aioli with extra salt and a cut lemon. A small meal, but at $11 not bad value. Picture taken with my phone, in rather bright light making it a very not so arty food picture.
image

My salad on the other hand was not what we expected. The one I had tried was a potato salad with some greens, beetroot chunks and trout on top. All with a lovely light and creamy mayonnaise. A meal to die for.
Today’s, ($18 meal) was unfortunately nothing like it. The potato had gone and in it’s place were chunks of cucumber and radish, a lot more greens, beetroot, next to no dressing but plenty of trout. Trout is a lighter version of salmon. Where salmon, smoked especially, has a heavy strong fishy flavour, trout is lighter and creamier. Well, going on my limited experience anyway. Again, not so arty too bright phone picture. image

The gorgeous Scottish waiter (he’s just so cute and very personable) returned and asked if everything was alright. I mentioned I was disappointed with the salad and why. I don’t mind radish, but there is only so much a person can eat. After taking stock as the criticism wasn’t expected, he said they were tweaking the menu but I was not the first to mention a dislike for the salad.

On checking if we wanted something else I asked they had any fudge out the front. (As you come in the front doors and head around to the bar and outside area they have a recessed shelf where they display the small sweets like muffins, scones, fudges and brownies, or whatever they have been baking). Yes they did, and which one would I like, the Bruny Island Chocolate or the salted caramel? Surprise me. That stumped him for a minute til my friend said she would take the other one. So one of each way ordered.

I often say ‘surprise me’ when being asked for desserts as I tend to want all of them equally and I really don’t mind what I have. Not everyone appreciates it though, thinking they night get in trouble if I don’t like what I get?? We both a giggle about that, and it was mentioned about being jumped on the way to the ladies.. Not quite what I meant about ‘surprise me’ 😉

The fudge was pure melt in the mouth delight and next time I will definitely be trying the caramel. Coffee is nothing amazing, it’s not bad, but I won’t make a beeline there just for the coffee. My total for lunch, a mere $23. Not a bank breaker, but not an everyday meal either. For under $60 two people could quite easily have a lovely lunch, coffee included.
How could you not enjoy eating outdoors at a place like this?

20130322-211329.jpg

Enjoy some more pictures of Peppermint Bay at my photo blog, Box of Photos. Find the link over to the right somewhere.

From my little piece of Paradise, have a great weekend 🙂
Jen x

5 responses to “Peppermint bay – a slice of Paradise

  1. Wow… that place reminds me of the restaurant at the Heidi Museum of Modern Art here in Melbourne. They do a great menu as well. Now you’ve made me drool and breakfast muesli is /not/ going to fill the gap. -sigh-

    Like

Tell me what you think...

