The Forgotten – book review

Sometimes I get on a roll and can sit and read a book from cover to cover with no inclination what so ever to stop before I’m done. There are only a few authors that make me feel like this, David Baldacci being one of them. His newest book I read, The Forgotten, fell into that category. Today I just sat and read it.

I love his books for the complex and rounded characters and well thought out plots, showing a dedication to providing a believable story.
While you know what has happened you don’t often know the who or why til the end with many twists and turns along the way. Good to keep you thinking. There are usually two or more stories running parallel which always end up intertwined in some way not always for good.
This one followed those same lines. When you have a good thing, there’s no need to change it.

Military CWO John Puller has just returned form some R and R when he is summoned to Paradise in Florida to ‘investigate’ a letter his Aunt had sent to her brother (an ex-army 3star in a VA hospital). On arriving he finds his aunt has died since posting the letter but finds the circumstances suspicious.
Quickly finding himself on the wrong side of the law the story moves along at a super fast pace with the bad guys seemingly coming out of the woodwork as John uncovers more sinister goings on in the idyllic city.
A man has escaped his captors and is intent on following his dream to wreak vengeance on past happenings to his family.
The two stories collide with more than a few incidents between the two and some unlikely friendships are forged in the process.
It seems some people here are not who they appear and looks are definitely deceiving. Good guys, bad guys, so hard to trust anyone these days.

A fast paced well written novel that grips you from the first page right to the last. Not as gory as some, but with enough graphic detail to get the point across. Another brilliant book by one of the masters. This guy is not an international best seller for nothing. I am .in the process of owning all his books after all.

10 responses to “The Forgotten – book review

  1. I like Baldacci too. I might check this one out. Nice review Jennifer.

    Like

  2. whiteladyinthehood

    I love reading, too. Some books are just so good you can’t put them down!

    Like

    • They’re the best kind 🙂 who is your favourite author?

      Like

      • whiteladyinthehood

        I honestly, honestly have too many to have a fav! and I like a lot of different books – just anything that has good characters and ‘pulls me in’…I have always liked Stephen King, I read all of the Clan of the Cave Bear series (Jean M. Auel), The Help, I loved (Kathryn Stockett), Water for Elephants…I could go on and on 🙂

        Like

      • I must get out more I think. Aside from Stephen king and The Help, I have no idea who you are talking about. I am trying (not very well it seems) to explore and read new authors. I should read the book before I watch the movie (definitely my preference, with The Help).

        Smiles from my ipad! 🙂

        Like

  3. Sounds like love at first read, Jennifer!
    Great review.

    Like

  4. I do the same thing with authors. I only mean to buy one (or just the latest one) and end up with all of them at some point. Collecting (and reading) books is just one of my little habits. I wrote and erased secret – anyone who sees my room knows I like books!

    Nancy

    Like

    • I love reading, and like to hang onto the books. I don’t know why. Maybe in case I want to re read them..? I start buying them once I know I really like the author. Maybe a post on all the books/authors I have… And then there’s hubby’s Stephen king collection…

      Like

Tell me what you think...

