12 Week Challenge

********* WARNING: POST ABOUT DIET & EXERCISE **************

I have had this post rattling around in my head for a week or two, waiting to get time to sit down and think about what I am writing and put it on paper (or screen). I even wrote a draft in my notes folder to get my head around a few things. I’m not sure if I’ll go and rescue it yet.

Last Wednesday I decided, that was it, I’ll write it. I had had a PT session in place of the Power Pilates class I went to, as I was the only one who turned up. Turns out it was the best workout I’ve done for a while. And got me thinking about this damned challenge I set myself – thanks to hubby.

We were at the pool and while I am no heifer, I am not model material either. There are parts that need…toning up. While plenty of people will say I look fine, I have no doubt I probably do, but it is how I feel about me that makes the difference. Nine years ago, I felt better than I ever had. More energy, more confidence and more self esteem.
Sure I am all mature and grown up now, and what you think doesn’t matter, but if I don’t like me, then how are others supposed to.

Let’s get down to business here. The 12 week challenge. They are everywhere these days, a full on diet and exercise overhaul resulting in a tough regime of working out and eating properly.

I know how to eat properly. I choose not to all the time, that’s all. For me, the food is the easy bit. If I don’t buy it, if it’s not in pantry, I won’t eat it. (Chips are my downfall!! Chocolate will sit there for months) And when we go out, I generally choose the best options already.
It is the exercise that gets me. I get bored easily. I can’t just do the same thing day in day out.

Last year I set myself a challenge. Get fit and ready for an 8k run. I did it. I don’t want to do fun runs or marathons, I just wanted to do that. Been there done that.
Later in the year after some personal physical issues, I got back on the treadmill and free weights, and spent a few months getting it on, and working out. I started Power Pilates (PP) and loved it. A new dimension to my workouts.

Then Christmas and the school holidays hit. No excuse for no exercise. But not having a set routine, meant I just enjoyed 6 weeks of nothing except my weekly PP class. And that is not going to get you fit on its own.

Back to where I made the decision. Hubby, in all his diplomacy, said maybe I should do a 12 week challenge. Get back to where I want to be, quickly, and then it’s all maintenance. I suggested maybe he join me. I’m all for honesty etc, especially from him and the kids, but that hurt. Why? Because its true. I am ten kilos heavier than my maximum healthy weight.

Long story short. I found a challenge and paid for it (the Michelle bridges one had closed that day for the next round, yes, no exaggerations, that day!) and proceeded to receive the email with all the information.

Initially it looked good. But the more I read, the more it sound like a body builders regime. The diet is reasonably strict and full of protein. Protein is good, it builds muscles. But eating 20+ eggs in a week, yeah, that’s a bit extreme. (even if i ate them everyday id still only get in, say, 10) and I’m not taking the supplement powders, multi vitamins or eating tofu, euck.

The exercises look pretty good but repetitive, (the only things that changed was the order of activity and the reps went up) and the two sessions I did last week gave the muscles a good work out.
The only other extra exercise I did, which was really good and totally unrelated was a couple of workouts from my new Pilates Guru book and the app on the iPad. I will still be doing these – aiming for the 15min energy boost workout – daily.

My plan. For the next 11 weeks.
Working out my workout regime, what I do each day at the gym – my own cardio and free weights sessions – and set up my groceries to follow the diet closely, but not exact – and do a weekly check in on the page I made just for it. It will be my diary and information pages. I won’t be writing posts just for this. Maybe share a link or a sticky note, but not the full thing.
I will get the obligatory before shot and measurements. Whether I share this with you, I am unsure at the moment. Maybe at the end. I may gad about the place and not care, but sharing a pic of me like that makes me feel uncomfortable. Go figure.

I have been going to a stretch class each Friday morning. One hour of stretching. I am not flexible at all, and I need it to loosen everything up. Funny thing, I feel all free and lose in my head, but physically, I am wound tighter than a coil. Is that saying something??
I walk in feeling a lead pencil, and walk out feeling like a rubber band. All relaxed and limber and completely not achy or stiff. I actually feel like I have more energy. So Fridays I won’t be doing any other exercise. That class is like my end of week cool down.

12 week challenge. Bring it on. My way.

Get active, get out there and be comfortable with You! 🙂
Jennifer

11 responses to “12 Week Challenge

  1. I needed to read this post today; my eating habits at work are far from healthy. Time to turn over a new leaf.

    Like

  2. Damn, my conscience is now pricking me. I’m about 10 kgs overweight too. I used to go to the gym… Then I used to do heavy gardening work. That I love but I overdid it and now it’s been weeks since I’ve done anything but walk around with the garden hose. -sigh- Maybe it’s time to go back to the gym….

    Like

    • Stupid computer lost my response, so I have to find the right words to say. I hear you!! I find that to start the process, if you aren’t into the whole full-on right- now just do small bits. Every little bit counts. And before you know it, you’ll be off and running. Off course, your ornery out has to greater than the energy in…

      Like

  3. Doing something geared to your specific needs has a much better chance of actually getting done. Go get ’em girl!

    Nancy

    Like

Tell me what you think...

