Christmas Cake Trifle

To state the obvious, Christmas is nearly here and this year I decided to make a Christmas cake. Then I changed my mind and thought they would be cool as mini cakes or muffins.
All went well until they hit the oven. I had my thoughts, but now I know, the temperature gauge is fooked in my oven. Between the Fahrenheit on the oven itself and the converter thermometer I bought they do not match up and success is becoming increasingly harder each time I bake.

Trifle in Australia is a traditional summer dessert and is on many tables comes Christmas time. While there are now recipes to cover every taste and desire, a basic trifle is a layer of broken up cake soaked in brandy, set jelly that is chopped into squares or just spooned over in lumps topped with fruit, custard and loads of whipped cream. Best made or prepared the day before the allow the flavours to develop.

My little Christmas cakes didn’t quite work, slightly over done and just not right. So they will be crumbled and topped with a port wine jelly, fruit to be decided then the custard and cream.

My cakes before their transformation. They may not look too bad here, but I’m not happy. You’ll have to wait until Monday night to see the end result.

20121222-173336.jpg

Enjoy your Christmas baking 🙂
Jennifer

2 responses to “Christmas Cake Trifle

  1. Don’t worry about looks, they’ll taste all right.

    Like

Tell me what you think...

