Italian Ape Cake

I picked up this recipe while working in an Italian restaurant years ago and while I left on bad terms – that is a sorry saga all of its own – I did love this cake and have made it many times since over the last 17 years.
It is designed as an afternoon tea cake rather than a dessert cake, but with today’s alteration I think it will more suited for dessert.
The original was made in a donut tin and topped with icing sugar, served plain. It it is equally as good served with custard, cream or ice cream. I don’t have any donut tins, so mine is square, and I will dust with icing sugar before we leave this evening.

Tonight is the Christmas bbq at Westwinds and one ‘condition’ for coming is to bring either a salad or dessert. I picked this one to make as it is cheap, not too fancy, and will survive whatever the weather decides to throw at us. Stinking hot, or cold and windy, this will work.

After a slow start, no, make that a suddenly insanely busy start to the morning, I am glad that by the time I actually got home to start baking, that I had pre measured all the ingredients and left the butter out to soften.

My alteration to the recipe is the ape lol, apple content. You are supposed to slice apples and fold them in raw, I used instead stewed apples, which would make the finished product softer and moister than the original.

Recipe.
800gr apples, sliced thinly. I used approx 400gr stewed apple.
200gr sugar
200gr butter
300gr SR flour (self raising)
4 eggs
1lemon, grated rind (I only grated a quarter of the rind)
Vanilla
Pinch Salt – I don’t use salt.

Cream butter and sugar.
Add eggs, one at a time.

20121207-123328.jpg

Add flour, mix and fold in apples.

20121207-123415.jpg

Pour into greased tin, and bake in med-hot oven 40-60 mins, checking after 30 mins.
Mine took 45 mins.

20121207-123536.jpg

And baked, ready to eat. It smells really good.

20121207-124044.jpg

I shall edit and add a post script after I get home tonight.
Have a great day, and enjoy the weather – how ever Mother N has delivered it to you.
Jennifer 🙂

PS. Sitting amongst all the pavlovas, trifles, lemon and caramel tarts and plates of fruit sat my tin with its apple cake. I had to leave early to pick up mr 16 from work, and the message came through from my friend that she has my tin and the 3 pieces leftover. A success I would say.
My sister in law rang this afternoon to ask where her piece was and its name has mow been changed to Aunty Jen’s Ape Cake
.

20121207-224255.jpg

8 responses to “Italian Ape Cake

  1. Cool! I love apples!

    Like

  2. Apes, apples it’s all the same once it comes out of the oven 🙂

    Like

  3. Sounds yum! I’m glad you changed it from raw ape to stewed apple, that ape would really have taken a toll on your kitchen 😉

    Like

    • Yes, apes in the kitchen don’t usually end well. That was one typo I was happy to leave in.. lol.

      Like

      • Although your apple cake sounds much nicer I would love to see the aftermath in the kitchen of the preparation of an ape cake. I guess there would be a huge mess and the cake in the oven with the vital ingredient missing 😉

        Like

      • That reminds me of a kids book called Kangaroo Stew… It ended up being stew shared by kids and 6 kangaroos… (Canned, instant, real etc…)

        Like

Tell me what you think...

