Wipeout Wednesday

It might end up being wipeout Wednesday on a Thursday depending how I feel tomorrow.
What?!
While my gym sessions are going along well and I am happy with how it’s going, it is time to add something else to the mix.
Not wanting extra driving I checked the class list on the gym door and Wednesday mornings has power Pilates. This might work, I’ve heard a lot about it and the benefits so I figured I’d give it a go.

Doing a google search, this is what it’s all about, for those who’ve been living under a rock…

“Pilates is a body conditioning routine that helps build flexibility and long, lean muscles, strength and endurance in the legs, abdominals, arms, hips, and back. It puts emphasis on spinal and pelvic alignment, breathing to relieve stress and allow adequate oxygen flow to muscles, developing a strong core or center (tones abdominals while strengthening the back), and improving coordination and balance. Pilates’ flexible system allows for different exercises to be modified in range of difficulty from beginning to advanced. Intensity can be increased over time as the body conditions and adapts to the exercises. No muscle group is under or over trained.[4] It enhances core strength and brings increased reach, flexibility, sure-footedness and agility.”

In a nut shell. This is what I need.
Flexible is not my middle name, actually, it’s nowhere near my name, so that can be improved and as for the other stuff. Changing the exercise around will get the body thinking and working overtime.

Some of the exercises felt easy, some made me work… I just know that regardless, tomorrow I will feel parts of me that I didn’t know existed. There are stomach abdominal muscles under the somewhere, as well as the pelvic floor. Both of which need stabilising and strengthening. Like I said when she asked if I could feel it.. “What pelvic floor, I’ve no idea where mine’s gone..” Yep, think its time to find it.

Even though we did a cardio circuit to warm up, you don’t sweat so much as it is all about control and conditioning. Slow fluid movements that work the muscles. The slower the better.
I was, in certain places wanting to push myself to get one more in before the time, but having a a minor head cold meant I couldn’t.

I will be back next week and already know it will be good. I had fun and I feel good (now). I may even gain some semblance of flexibly, and a nicer posture.

Have you tried Pilates? What did you think. Do you live by it, or are you more of a gym/cardio/weights junkie. The hard or soft option.

Til next time, smiling through the obscene stretching 🙂
Jennifer

2 responses to “Wipeout Wednesday

  1. I am very proud of you, Jennifer — you inspire me!

    Like

    • Thanks, I don’t see myself as one to inspire others. But there you go. It is now Thursday morning, and the only thing that hurts, aside from the coughing that has arrived. My butt! I actually feel limber and supple and really good. I’m surprised to be honest. Not that I feel so good, but limber and supple, not words I normally use for me.

      Like

Tell me what you think...

