Lovely weather – if you feel like taking flying lessons.

My little plan went slightly astray yesterday. I hit the gym and then the idea was to spend 4 hrs plus on the computer being super productive and getting stuff done.
What actually happened was that I buggered about, started reading a book ….
It’s spring, so that means windy, but yesterday was extreme. So extreme that the power went off across the state at 11 am and didn’t return to about 6 pm. So no washing, no coffee, no water and absolutely no computer work because the internet was buggering up as well.

Add to that, the two calls I got from the school about picking up the kids. At 12.30. (I had to authorise that I would let them go home early, thus picking them up, luckily we live only 10mins away). Power was out for too long, and with 200+ kids and no water… Well, you get the idea. Oh, and a roof blew off one of the classrooms (with my kid in it)

We did some tidying up round the yard – from hubby ripping out old garden beds and a tree stump, not from the wind.
Thoughts then turn to dinner. No power means one thing. BBQ. That is fine except the wind is not so warm anymore. Candles are found for once it got dark…and then Poof, well, not really a poof, more of the humming as things come to life.
Have you ever noticed how quiet things are when there is no power. No fridges humming. As subtle as they are, it is still noise.
Our dinner became an indoor bbq. As in cook outside and eat in.

I’m not too sure if I’ll get anything better done today. With my reblog, I don’t want to just share the link, but copy and paste won’t work as WP doesn’t like the pictures. I’ll work on something. There might be something else later today.
It is Friday and hubby and I are heading to town later, and tomorrow is work for the eldest then our ‘routine’ pizza and movie night.
Sunday, providing the weather plays nice we are taking a family day out to visit a cave – it’s gonna be a long day as the learner will be driving which means no more than 80km/hr – but should be fun. I have to empty the SD card and make sure both batteries are fully charged.

Have a great day and I hope the weather plays nice for you (spring or autumn/fall)
Jennifer πŸ™‚

16 responses to “Lovely weather – if you feel like taking flying lessons.

  1. Wow, it’s really weird to think of you having Spring on my birthday. We are settling down for the winter months, though it is still nice here – mostly. I hope the children weren’t too traumatised by the roof blowing off. Sounds scary!

    Like

  2. When doesn’t life go astray? At least Fate keeps you on your toes, young lady…

    Like

  3. Bloody hell…. I’m so glad none of the kids were hurt when that roof came off. And here I thought Tassie was such a nice place to live. πŸ˜‰

    Like

Tell me what you think...

