Kicked out of my house

Why is it that now I have the time, 2 hrs to be precise, to be able to write a blog post that I can’t think of a damn thing to write. Sure there has been heaps going on and spending 24 hrs without Internet access was a pain (I did get to start reading a new book though, bought from lack of access + some) and I really noticed how much I use it for all sorts of things.
Surfing the net, well I don’t do this often, but the one time I wanted to look up stuff… Read my emails, blogs and FB… to name a few. Curled up on the couch under the heater with a good murder book was going to have to suffice. And I enjoyed it, David Baldacci is one of my favourite authors.

Last night was the night we were out of he house. I say kicked out to be funny, but actually, paid to leave with a meal and accommodation.
I’ll be posting a review on our meal at the local pub soon.
Now, why were kicked out?
Several months ago, April I think, one of my hot plates died. Yep, the big one, the one that is used more than any other. This proved a pain, as I realised how much I actually used it. So I hunt out a cheapy electric frying pan and slow cooker. Both have been brilliant and will continue to be used regularly.
Then the hot water cylinder died, that was fixed but another problem came up. The private electricity pole next to our carport was on a rather disasterous lean. Not a good look. Or safe. So the electrician came and fixed it up, temporarily. Thankfully it is near the the bank so the planks of timber are embedded into the bank and holding up the pole.

A week later the real estate ring and ask if we would mind leaving the house for a night if the owner pays, as it is cheaper for them to do that and stretch out the process (concreting the pole properly into the ground) than have it done in one day. So 36 rather than 24 hrs. Oh, and they will install the hot plates for you at the same time.
We have no problem with that. We’re pretty easy going that way. We are of the thinking that if we’re good to them, they’ll be good to us and round it goes….

Fast forward a few weeks and we pack up the car ready to leave for 2 days. This is after it has all organised and Aurora then (pole and electricity suppliers) lost the paperwork! Really? Witing again. The men arrive early and they talk poles, then one says “there’s a hotpate to put in aswell isn’t there? Do you want a look??” Really? Yes please! I think I was a little too excited, but who cares.

We got a brilliant little 2 bedroom cabin in the local caravan park. 5 beds for my three boys to choose from… Over kill maybe but hubby made the beds, and I have proof. These places are really well set out these days. A full kitchen, small stove, microwave, and everything you need for a holiday of more than a day or two. You can very easily spend a few weeks in one of these cabins. I was happy with this as, after the issue with the milk the other week, I think it’s a bad batch of instant coffee, so I have been full on real coffee (normally its half and half depending on my mood) so my coffee maker came along and she was cooking on the stove more than once.

As we left the house yesterday, the old cooker had come out and … Oh no, what are you doing…?They have to cut my bunch to fit the new one in. Of course it’s bigger. Is not 40 years old. Only a few inches, but I don’t have much space… it is a ceramic stove top, so flat and easy. And now I can’t wait to get home. Sad? Yes. But I have a thing for kitchens and decent tools, so for me it is exciting.

Out with the old…..

20120828-184408.jpg

And in with the new……

20120828-184538.jpg

I will post a picture essay next with all the photos I took around the beach near the caravan park. Water, galahs, black swans, flowers….

Keep smiling 🙂
Jennifer

Tell me what you think...

