let me introduce you to…. Peggy.

Here is Peggy. A beautiful and stylish 1950’s lass who is very much ahead of her time in this 70’s outfit.
She is comfortable everywhere and quite capable to start a conversation where you might be unsure.
She is flexible and strong enough to carry the load, and comfortable in herself to also be arm candy.   She will draw you in with her charms and please you no end. 🙂

Ok, now we’ve been introduced, let me show you how I got to know her.
********************************************************************************************
I found her in this fab book my sister sent me for Christmas.

Her pattern had to be enlarged and then cut.

pattern pieces enlarged, cut and ready to go

Now comes the fun part.  This pattern includes some skills I have not tried yet, so I am being careful and taking my time here.  Peggy has to be perfect. (As I type, Peggy has yet to have a handle on life, but I’ll find it for her).

Material laid out ready to go … what’s that … where does this go … why does it say that … ~ ;-} ~ not enough material… ahh ~lightbbulb moment~ pays if I read the pattern piece.  Ok, so shall read and re-read before I cut anything.

pattern pieces done.

First up after all the cutting was placing the zip in place.  The zip did not go in the usual place at the top of the bag, rather at the back, the functuality taking nothing away from the beauty of this bag.

zipper pinned into place

I was a little scared and kept checking the instructions to make sure the picture and my material matched up.
Thankfully they did.
And I now have a zip, very nicely sewn into the back of the bag.

ta-daa… i did it! it worked 🙂

The tabs for the handle were actually the first thing, but they were quick and easy.  Now to sew the front and back peieces together – with only half the lining. The front piece comes later.
I did stuff up here, by sewing all the way round the corners instead of leaving them open to make the lovely boxed bottom.  Unpick the stictches and fix it up.

The front part of the lining was then pinned to the back and sewn as a seperate piece, this was where I noticed I missed the corners, and had to go back, on both lining and outer.

boxed corners – helps make more room, and a flatter bottom on the bag

The bow for the front was the worst thing, and I’m not totally happy with it.  It may come off yet, we’ll see. The bow came off and was re sewn, looks 100% better.
I was looking for buttons to add for the accents when I came across a bag of funky flower buttons. Bright colours including those that I needed, yellow, green and orange. The buttons took a little bit of fiddling but they look great and are the perfect finishing touch.


The last bit to do is the handle. In the magazine the handle was a turned piece of timber, I didn’t have that luxury, instead a piece of balsa dowel I am painting. After looking through mum’s paints we found just the right one.
Raw Sienna. It looks a little like baby poo, but once it has two coats and has dried it will fit quite nicely, blend but not stand out.

Other than that, I am really happy with how Peggy looks and I think there will be more Peggy’s and her friends in the coming months.

Peggy is now complete and looking very nice indeed. Her new ‘friend’ (owner) has seen her and approved…

I shall swap this for a ‘proper’ picture when I get it done.

4 responses to “let me introduce you to…. Peggy.

  1. A lovely accomplishment!

    Like

  2. The name absolutely fits the fabric! I should see if I can find some more books 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks. I was hoping that once I’d made that decision (on which bag to make) it would work out, and it looks like it did.
      She is fab and there will be more Peggy’s to come. 🙂

      Like

Tell me what you think...

