Who likes Coleslaw??

Granted, most people don’t, it’s the whole cabbage and flatulence thing.  I love it!  Just gotta be careful when I eat it though, and today, the day before hubby gets home, probably not the best decision.. lol.  Damn, it tasted good though.

I’m on a bit of a health and fitness weight-loss kick now, after the last few sludgy weeks,   (there’s along term goal there, but I wont bore you with the details).  So after my 4k walk with dog and mr 8 I wanted something nice and light for lunch.  No more carbs, and I can’t eat eggs without toast, so that ruled out a nice poached or scrambled egg for lunch.
The dregs of the vege drawer produced a cabbage in both white and purple,  red onion, cos lettuce and some avocado.  If bacon had been present anywhere it would have made a brilliant addition.  Thus turning it into a Ceaser-slaw.  Now there’s an idea… maybe next time.

After thinly slicing my cabbage, lettuce and onion, I found the dregs (yep, my fridge is disgustingly bare presently) of a regular mayonaise and some Potato-salad dressing (this one is lightly herbed, but I think some coriander and parsley would do the trick otherwise).
Mixing in just enough to combine the slaw mix I then helped myself and added some chopped avocado on the top.

Crunchy, sweet, mellow, a bit of bite with onion… I went back for seconds, then thirds – hmm, I just demolished the lot.
Mr 13 sat at the table with his toast and I asked him would he like some… “no, don’t like purple food…”
So that got us (with mr 8) talking about coloured foods and what was  yummy or otherwise.

Once I helped myself to the last serving mr 8 said “…mum, one day you’re going get sick…”  Ok, “why”, Apparently if I eat too much healthy food I’m going to get sick.  Can’t say much to that except laugh.

My slaw mix.
Quantities are about equal with the veges.  Amount – depends on how many are eating.
I had a 1/4 each of cabbage & onion and only used a very small portion of each + 1 whole baby cos lettuce.  I love avocado, so I could have eaten the whole thing with it, but I restrained myself, used about 1/4 or less on each serve.
If adding bacon, I would allow 1 rasher per person, and chopping into strips, fry it til crispy, then add into the veges.

Red & white (or is it green) cabbage.
Cos lettuce, I like the baby ones.
red onion.
Dressing of your choice – should be creamy. Just enough to coat ingredients.
Herbs.
Avocado – not too soft, not too hard.

Thinly slice, cabbage, onion, lettuce.
Add dressing/s and herbs if using.
Place into a bowl and top with about a 1/4 of the avocado chopped.

Happy munching, eat well 🙂
jennifer

10 responses to “Who likes Coleslaw??

  1. I love coleslaw, and yours looks terrific!

    Like

  2. Sometimes, well most of the time it is my favorite item on my seafood platter, YUM! I love my own as well, my Mom taught me to make!

    Like

  3. Coleslaw rocks… As do you, Jennifer!

    Like

  4. It looks yummy 🙂 I think I will have to go on the Mr 8 diet though. More junk food! More junk food! Only for my health of course…

    Like

Tell me what you think...

