Fun Run get fit time…

Three weeks ago I made the call to do the Mother’s Day Classic, the 8 km fun run.  Rather, I opened my big mouth and said “I’m doing the 8k run..” WT..??? Did I say that? Really.  Well, there it is. Out.  Even when I was registering I could have made it the 4k run, but no, I had said 8 so the 8 it was.
I have a thing for running – during High school it was my thing.  Anything over 400m was my race, and the longer the better, although we only went to 1500m where I was.  That or the cross-country.  Granted I have not done much since High School.

Anyway, so there is just over two weeks left and how have I been going?
The first few times I realised just how unfit I am.
If you remember the post about the treadmill (here) then you may well be thinking that I am fit as a fiddle and can run for miles and miles.  Well after that post, life got in the way, friends came to visit, we went away, life got in the way again.. and I haven’t really been on the treadmill or anywhere else for that matter since.

My aim here was to get a picture and make some smart remark about whipping me into shape and doing silly drawings to enhance it. Bah. That fell in a heap…

My first few runs were pretty pathetic but I have improved, not a great deal, but I’m definitely better.
I asked a couple of fitness gurus (one of them was Sarah of The Healthy Diva) to give me a few pointers on what is the best way to attack this challenge.

The results of that were pretty well the same – this is good – :
interval training – on a time or distance ratio,
combining both inside and outside work,
keep the body guessing (swap and change the routine and workouts)
as well as some strength exercises.
And always finish with stretches, which I do anyway.  Found out the hard way months ago, that not stretching after a 5k walk results in not being able to move the next day.

So with a 3k run yesterday done and hitting the gym tomorrow I think I might actually do this thing.
There are moments though where I have doubt on having bitten off too much, will I be able to do and not look like a twit.

what I'd like to look like when I run...

This brings me to another point we talked about, which was what I expected out of the run.

A: run more than I walk.
B: finish the race.
C: have no injuries before, during or after the race.
D: to be decided on the day… maybe I check my watch and try to beat a certain time, ‘race’ a few people to the finish line…. whatever I decide as things pan out.

My goal is to finish within an hour.  And given I have never done this before I am not sure about how realistic this is… but know it’s more than achievable, for someone like me.

My only hope is that with another 2+ weeks of training my body will remember what it used to do in High school and things will fall into place on the day.

and she does it!

What challenge like this have you done? Did it work out?

keep up the hard work 🙂
jennifer

images courtesy of Google.

4 responses to “Fun Run get fit time…

  1. Just remember, Jennifer; you’re a winner no matter what!

    Like

  2. Good luck! I have no aspirations to run — and am struggling to get myself out the door for a walk!

    Like

Tell me what you think...

