Quince Jelly.

I grew up eating cool stuff like quince jelly on sandwiches or toast. A rich pinky red colour that was both sweet and tart was perfect for an easy snack.  Fast forward many years and I must have a tub of Quince paste when I do a cheese and fruit platter.  It works so well with all sorts of cheeses and pear slices.
But back to the title.  I discovered a quince tree in my backyard the other day by mistake.  Looking through a window at the right (or wrong) angle I saw a yellow thing hanging the tree and my first thought was “yay, lemons” and “how did I miss a lemon tree?”  On closer inspection, it wasn’t lemons, but quinces.  Even better.  Jelly!

the humble Quince.

A quince is a funny shaped fruit that has a really pretty perfumed smell.  A lightly citrusy overtures, but not the lemon lime smell, more of a tangy apple-pear combination of smell.  If you smell the flesh it is a familiar smell even if you can’t put your finger on it.

I pick the ones that look good and then hunt out other ways to cook them.  Roasting with a lamb or pork in the oven is one I want to try.  And I happen to have both in my freezer.  But with only 5 good ones, I’m starting with the jelly.  And yes, I’ll be the only one who eats it, but I don’t mind – that means more for me!

Hunting out a recipe (3 books & online cooking page  = zip, nil, nada)  I grab the huge Australian heritage cookbook I’ve never actually used.  I then realise I have no jars.  A quick call to mum and I pop round quickly to grab some and also ‘borrow’ some expertise on what I should do. (+ a small container so mum can try some aswell).  This was easy as mum has the same recipe book I was using so we could look at it and not the picture I took on my phone… lol

cut and ready to set on the stove.

As I start this post my quinces are in the first stage of simmering away – for an hour.
I have just strained the juice, and to the pot am adding more water and the mushy fruit flesh then simmering for another 30 mins.

smooshy and gross looking but golly it smells goood!

Then comes the time-consuming part…. (adding sugar and standing there stirring stirring… for around 45 mins).

liquid and sugar ready to cook.

Think I might start working on dinner now while I have time to do stuff.

Some time later….
by the time dinner was ready I was pouring my jelly into jars.  It was certainly ready – it’s more like paste than jelly, and it’s a bit dark.  But I did it!  it’s not burnt, and it tastes divine!

ready for the jar!

the end product - this one ready for mum 🙂

So next time I see quinces on my little tree you know what I’m going to be doing.

Enjoy the cheese platter & paste 🙂
Jennifer

4 responses to “Quince Jelly.

  1. that looks soooo yum!

    Like

  2. It’s not too dark, just the right shade. Looking forward to tasting.

    Like

Tell me what you think...

