Hot Cross Good Friday

First up – Happy Easter to all.   Regardless of how you celebrate, be safe and have fun! 🙂

A week or so ago I posted about going on a baking frenzy this morning making all sorts of Hot Cross gooodies… I am now exhausted. And the weekend hasn’t even started yet. Several coffees, sinks full of dishes (washed as I went – I have to do it) and flour all over the bench and I have some extra yummy Hot Cross Muffins (yummo!) Buns – yes I’ve got the yeast thing working and then a Hot Cross Tea Bread. Tea Bread?? I’ve never heard of it either, but it seems to have worked, it’s quite heavy but if you wait a minute I’ll take a bite… mm, gobble, licking fingers… yeah, it’s a fruity tea bread. Very nice indeed.

Last year I started using yeast again after not having done anything since college.
Read here about that one.
So I am now a seasoned yeast user (hmm, that just sounds weird) so I was more than confident in wanting to make my own hot cross buns. That sounds a bit cocky, but I think you get my drift.  Yeast can be difficult to work with (like kids and animals… ) because if the liquid is too hot the yeast dies and not hot enough, it just doesn’t work and you end up with rock hard bread instead of light fluffy bread.

With coffee in hand on the bench I got to work on the buns.  Yeasty bubbles in the milk – Yay! and then while it was proving my little helper and I made the hot cross muffins. No yeast in these and in 45 mins were finished and out of the oven.  Icing crosses (yeah, kind of crosses) were spooned on and I cleaned up.

yeasty milk mixture - co-operating. It's nice when things just work.

muffins before....

While the buns were still proving I was able to get the tea bread yeasty going.  Again, bubbles all over the milk means a happy cook here.
The buns were cooked and glazed and while my tea bread finished rising  I walked the dog & took a bun and muffin to friends at the shop down the road.

odd looking buns reading for their second rising


Bun Bread in the oven, I finish cleaning and thought about lunch – I was starving. Four hours, 2 coffees and a walk certainly works up the appetite.
Mini tin of tuna with crackers  and some tea bread, more coffee and, I should probably come clean. I cheated.  ~hangs head in shame~  I have said that we don’t follow Easter religiously except for the Fish thing. Don’t ask me why, it’s just what we do.  But I grabbed a meat pie from the shop while I was there. It was very good.  And the boys have had nachos for lunch too.

Fresh soft, yummy hot cross bunnies 🙂

buns, muffins and bread... all ready to devour (let's hope those fussy extras that are coming will help us eat them)

The recipes are rather long for these items, and can be found pretty well anywhere, so I wont be posting in the recipe page.  If you would like one I can post it up or email it to you.

Happy Easter to all 🙂
Jennifer

10 responses to “Hot Cross Good Friday

  1. You’re exhausted but at least you have nice buns!

    Like

  2. Fantastic looking HCB’s Jennifer!

    Wish I was partaking of them myself! hehehe

    Like

  3. You’re a good mom, Jen! I’m cutting down on starch, so have one for me.

    Like

  4. So now you are a yeaster at Easter!!! 😎

    Like

Tell me what you think...

