It’s gonna be a hot crossy day indeed.

While we don’t celebrate the religious side to Easter we still partake in the ‘traditions’ that come with it. Hot cross buns and Fish on Good Friday.

Love my seafood feasts.  Guaranteed, there is always an assortment of fish on our table for that one day of the year.  It will only be a small fishy day this year as hubby is working and wont be home.  But my sister and her family will be around for dinner and I may get to do something with mum and dad for lunch, albeit briefly in their busy schedule.

But this is about the other side… Hot Cross Buns.
While flicking through the local paper I saw an article about Hot Cross… all sorts of things.
So on Good Friday morn I will arise and head to the kitchen where, after a coffee, will proceed to do some Hot Cross baking.
I hope I’m not to Hot and Cross afterwards.
What am I baking aside from Buns… well, you’ll just have to wait and see.
(My local readers who may know, please don’t spill the raisins beans)

Do you bake other Hot Cross items and follow the Fish Friday ‘rule’ or is it business as usual in your house?

Not cross, smiling 🙂
Jennifer

12 responses to “It’s gonna be a hot crossy day indeed.

  1. Fish ‘n Chips at the local Legion on Friday – that’s the norm in our house!

    Like

  2. Hot cross buns… mmmmmmm… toasted and slathered in cold butter….mmmm… I love them and was only able to resist for about two days into the year before I bought some. I ate my fill and have now managed to keep away from them and will continue to do so until Easter… maybe… We call them Hot angry rabbits (hot cross bunnies, geddit? ;))
    Enjoy your baking!

    Like

    • “Hot angry rabbits” love it. One of our bakeries here is selling small dinner roll sized sones and selling them as bunnies. There is something about the recipe that makes it nice just once a year. I think I did have some early on, but that was literally one or two. not packets.
      Well, I shall get my fresh from the oven hot angry rabbits for morning tea and will & will have one for you aswell… toasted and def slathered in butter! 🙂

      Like

  3. Dear Jennifer, I’m sorry to say that I am unfamiliar with hot cross buns; but fish on Good Friday is a long-time habit with us. Funny story — My (ex) sister-in-law planned a huge fish dinner for Good Friday. We went shopping, and she bought a whole carp. When the time came to start prepping, she picked up a sharp knife, and handed it to me! I backed away, wouldn’t even take the knife. So, after a while, we called her mom. Her mom asked about the fish’ size, and its weight. We checked all these things, and reported the fish ready. She said, “Wrap the carp in newspaper, and throw it away.’ We followed her directions to the letter!

    Like

    • that is so funny about the fish.. ‘wrap it up and throw it away’. What did you do instead of the carp? Hot cross buns are delish! A bun thta is lightly spiced and contains dried fruit. A cross is put on the top prior to baking using a mix of flour and water and then glazed when they’re cooked. Yummo!

      Like

      • My mouth is watering! Instead of the carp, she fixed her favorite birthday meal — Standing Rib Roast. When I asked her about the meat on Good Friday thing, She told me that she had bought that gargantuan carp, just like she was supposed to, so that whole business was a big okay from God. Plus, it was her birthday, and we were going to have the roast the next day, so she decided to go ahead and cook it. I ate it, too, but I had some really horrendous cold smoked fish I didn’t recognized, and I ate every bite of that, so I didn’t feel horrible. I was not raised a Catholic, and fish on Good Friday is not one of our traditions. But I like it and will comply this year as well.

        Like

      • That rib roast sounds really good… I remember we went to church at Easter and Christmas Day and said grace each night, but that was about it. The fish and hot x buns has always been done that way with us and I kinda like it. Makes it special. Hope you enjoy your new ‘tradition’ and make sure you eat some nice fish this time 🙂

        Like

      • I certainly will — one good thing about living in Maine is our access to very good fish! Enjoy your hot x buns — I’m going to look for some around here somewhere. I’ll let you know if I get the chance to make it. 😎

        Like

      • Enjoy 🙂 and I’ll post the recipe if you’d like later on.

        Like

    • So do I. and easter is the only time I eat them… even though they have been available since January, I wont buy them til the week of Easter. But this year I will try and make my own.

      Like

Tell me what you think...

