Rise of the meatball soup

It’s dinner time again… and that means soup.

After making beef meatballs with tomato soup (see recipe in on the ‘my recipe’s page) the other week I decided tonight was chicken soup & meatballs.  Filling, easy and really quick.  And the kids ate it. A pass all round I’d say.

Recipe below picture.

image

Ingredients & method:
Meatballs: 600gr chicken mince, finely diced 1/2 red onion & chunk of parsley. 1 egg and breadcrumbs to combine.
Mix together and roll into balls.  (Mine tend to be rather large, but the size is up to you).

1 carrot neatly diced, garlic, 1/2 cup peas and corn (i used frozen), 1 cup macaroni or 1 pkt 2 min noodles cooked without flavour, 2 litres water with 2 Tbspn chicken stock powder (1/2 cup liquid stock approx).
Salt, pepper and maybe a pinch of chilli flakes for bite.

In your soup pot cook carrot & garlic in some oil then add meatballs and brown them.
Add the liquid and when it comes to the boil add the macaroni and veges.
Boil gently for 10 minutes til pasta is cooked, season to taste.
Serve in large  bowls.

As I have said before, I am no chef, so I’m sure there are things I could better or differently.  Also feel free to try recipes out and change them as you please.

10 responses to “Rise of the meatball soup

  1. Soup looks great! My hubby is really picky, but meatballs are always a hit. Definitely going to try this one:)

    Like

    • I know all about fussy eaters. I have 4 of them. Although the two eldest are getting better. If you have a look at the recipe for the beef balls in tomato soup, that is good too. The more pasta you add, turns it into a pasta-meatball-soupy dish which is really nice. Good luck, I hope he likes it 🙂

      Like

  2. That sounds like a lovely soup! I’m going to have to try it — my soup repertoire to date is leek or potato/leek soup. Good for winter, but this sounds more like a summer soup. Yum!!!

    Like

  3. Yum, sounds good, might try it myself soon.

    Like

Tell me what you think...

