MONA… O.M.G!!

Where to start… There is so much going on here that it is hard to put everything into place.
MONA is the acronym for Museum of Old and New Art.  A private collection that is now open to the public.  It has only been open for 18 months and in that time tourism to the state has increased hugely and pretty well everyone you talk to have an opinion about the place.
Confronting, Out There, In Your Face,, Thought Provoking… some of the many phrases people have used to describe it.  I will add one – Sensory Overload!!

Part of the view, looking towrads the city and Mt Wellington. The museum is in front and below us.

not sure this would hold much...

not sure this would hold much...

The building has been built into the side of a hill and inside there are many walls of exposed ‘earth’ and rocks along with the concrete slabs used to stabilise it.  It is 4 stories high (or low), was designed brilliantly and the layout for many of the exhibits is perfect.

What is in here… everything from weird and wonderful ‘traditional art’ paintings and sculptures, an Egyptian coffin and artifacts to the completely obscure Cloaca, or ‘poo machine’.  Yep, a machine that mimics the human body and after ‘eating’ in the morning, poops in the late afternoon.  And yep, it smells a little in that room.

a selectin of the seating available at the bottom foyer, near the bar. So Cool!

a selection of seating available at the bottom foyer near the bar. So Cool!

and his clothes discretly hidden from most people's view. I hope he's paid well.

live tattoo model (notice the ipod wires)

Guy with the tatts – live person, his clothes hanging behind the wall.  I saw him stretch, wonder if he realised people were still there. I hope he gets paid well to sit there all day, like a statue.

My favourite. Lead books with glass shards on a giant bookcase.  And the glass tunnel leading into it.  It smelled somewhat of sulphur, bringing back some memories. :-}
Loved this one. Lead books with shards of glass on a 'bookcase'. Smelt a little of sulphur though, brought back memories.and the glass tunnel leading into it.

On our arrival, after descending the funky round elevator which is surrounded by a circular staircase we went to the ladies room (ok not really required information, but you’ll see in a minute) and omg… aside from very personal cubicles which had their own basins, there was a movie playing on the floor.  Some old black and white Charlie Chaplin silent movie, but seriously, you could spend some time on the loo just watching a movie… I know I was willing to, lol
one of 10 fully carved tyres on display.
another cool sculpture

Anyone visiting Tasmania should definitely make time to visit this place.  It will challenge everything you know or thought you knew about art and creativity.
Once I’ve been back there may well be a MONA part 2.  This is a totally visual experience and the right words to go with are just not my forte…
Google MONA  (Hobart, Tasmania) for links galore of this amazing place.

Keep smiling, 🙂
Jennifer

ps. I hate pictures and words together.  My ineptutude really sucks, and the comments for each one didn’t even work 😦
Guy with the tatts – live person, his clothes hanging behind the wall.

6 responses to “MONA… O.M.G!!

  1. I LOVE art. I would LOVE to see this museum. Looks fantastic!

    Like

  2. It sounds really interesting, thanks for the review.

    I can’t help but wonder what the tattooed man’s life is like outside of the museum. I’m convinced he is either truly happy and satisfied or the single most depressed person on planet earth.

    Like

    • I never actually thought of it like that. He actually looked ‘un-real’ initially. I also wonder what sort of person would do what he has done. I will hunt out the blurb they wrote for this particular ‘art work’… it’s almost creepy.
      I hope though, that he is a satisfied person. I dare say he does a lot of physical exercise though.
      Thanks for coming along 🙂

      Like

  3. Hi, Jen — the prodigal sister returns to the fold! Sorry I’ve been away for a while. I’m back, and feeling better than ever. I hope all is well with you!

    Like

Tell me what you think...

