Social media and Me.

I had a huge long essay here on my thoughts about the  phenomena that is Twitter, Facebook and my blogging (that is not included in the phenomena) but have changed tack and leaving it as short post.  No need to bore the pants of you.

Facebook: love it, it’s like a whole little community and I have ;met; many wonderful friends there.  Yeah, at times it’s a bit high schoolish, but some people just never grow up. After just 23 months,  a new and good friend is coming for a whirlwind visit from the States to see me.  Now, I would never in a million years thought I could have a friendship like this beginning on the internet. Wonders will never cease. 🙂

Twitter: joined up a few years ago, and after seeing FB, Twitter was too different and weird.  Left it be.  Fast forward to now and I am slowing getting into it.  I do need help with how to make it work better, and how things work.  But time and patience…

My blog… has given me grief.  I do love my blog and what I am doing, but I start to question myself..:

 What am I doing?
Am I doing the right thing?
Should I do more? Less??
Change what I do?

Blog!!
I’m an all or nothing sort of person.  At the moment I’m all about my blog. Of course I can multi task, but when I get stuck on something, that’s what I want to do. 
Some things are easy to do, but it takes a bit for it to sink in here, so after 8 months or so, something has hit home and I now have a whole bunch of new things on my blog page.  It just clicked. So I did it. And I just want to write and post pics, and do stuff.

There in poses the problem. Or dilemma.
I know I have changed as time has gone on.  My posts are better, more chatty I hope, than reading like a fact book, and all stiff.  I found, the posts I started reading (part research which is huge for me) that I liked the most, were those that read like a conversation, that they were talking to me.  I wanted to emulate that in my own style, keeping true to who I am.

But what do I write about, do I try to please everyone (of course not, it can never work!), so I write what I think people want to read, or just let it all fall out onto the keyboard (which is sort of what I do)???

The more views we get the better. But do we put undue pressure on ourselves to write better stuff to keep people engaged? Or is that trying too hard.  Do we put in lots of pictures, a few pictures. 

I have given myself plenty of poetic licence within my title blurb.  I am not drifting off course, or going somewhere my readers don’t want to go.  I have also learnt that long posts are allowed to be cut into parts 1,2 and 3 etc… don’t bore people with too much wordy stuff.
Oops, is this post too long already..?

The key – as I read today on The Hook – is to be passionate about what you write.  If you like what you are writing about, it comes across and people want to engage and come back.

If that link doesn’t work, please check my blogroll.

Keep smiling and have a great social day 🙂
Jennifer

6 responses to “Social media and Me.

  1. mommywritervkent

    You’re not the only one who doesn’t get Twitter, lol. I, like you had a Twitter years ago, didn’t get it…still don’t… but again have one and am learning more and more about it.
    As for what to blog about, blog about what you’re passionate about, but also things you enjoy. Something will always come to mind to blog about. I have found several books on blogging and many have fantastic ideas. Overall, your blog is a part of you and who you are, so if you have one niche you want to gear your blog towards, do it… if not, just write about what makes you happy and the rest will happen as it needs to. 😀

    Like

  2. Oops! My posts have been getting longer — I hope I’m not discouraging people from participating in the blog experience. Congrats on the new features. It looks great!

    Like

Tell me what you think...

