Clay worms! For Art’s sake.

I bought a new toy the other day. For $15. From Kmart.
Wow, that’s interesting I hear you say… but it’s not what you might be imagining – this is a cool toy!

An item more often found in the kitchen than craft room….  something for my clay.

I bought a pasta machine!

If you’ve read any books on Polymer clay (and who hasn’t lately, riveting stuff that they are!) then a pasta machine is just the right thing to make sure your clay is the perfect thickness and colours are blended just right.

I am quite happily imagining the worms I can produce for making things – I saw a pair of earrings in a polymer book the other day, made out of what looked like mini fettucine strips.  Oh, the possibilities!

I’ll be in Wraptures!

One thing you need to know about clay, the polymer type, is that it has to be conditioned. That is, worked in your hands til it’s soft and pliable.  Then you can start to roll or mould with it.  If it’s not conditioned properly it will crack slightly at the edges and for fine detailed work this is not good as it weakens the finished result.

my little helper feeding clay through the roller

my piece of glass ready to wrap

Ooh look! worms!

So I tested my machine and she works a treat, and my first Wraptures! is ready to bake.  A lovely piece of blue and pink glass is now resting in a nest of pink worms. 🙂

Glass in a nest of pink worms

side view, and ready to bake (when he has friends to join him)

What to do now…. I have plenty of colours and will be ordering more soon, so I’ll be busy blending, rolling, worming (?), fettucini-ing and of course baking.  Now I just have to buy more glass to go with it.  And brooch backs.  But there’s plenty of time to do that.

Keep smiling, coz I know I will be 🙂
Jennifer

4 responses to “Clay worms! For Art’s sake.

  1. helensadornmentsblog

    Ohhhh, this looks like fun. I’ve been very curious about polymer clay and know it can make some dynamite beads. Keep us posted on your creations.

    Like

  2. Yay! Don’t you love that stuff? I still have little statues and trinkets and jewelry laying around from back in the 90s, when I first started using it. And my sister S. found a lovely idea — pull the guts out of a Bic-type pen. Create or buy the pattern you like — flowers, dots, stripes, whatever. Cover the outside of the pen casing, leaving a little blank 2mm or so where the guts have to go back in, so they’ll set right. Bake, and then return guts to pen. She never found a cap, but I’m sure that can’t be hard, and if the pen dries out, just put in some more pen guts. These are adorable, and make terrific gifts for students and for writers. I think your glass-in-worms is beautiful!

    Like

Tell me what you think...

