the year that was….

I start this, a few days before the 31st and I contemplate what I should say.  How do I describe the year that was 2011 from our perspective.  So much has happened in such a short period, and I’m not sure where to start.

Before I continue, a few things I have learned this last year. (it is now 2 Jan 2012).

– who my real friends are, both old and new.

– sometimes scary things can be the most exciting.  Take my helicopter ride over Uluru,  NT.  I have vertigo. Sometimes it behaves and sometimes I am a freaky scared person.  I sat in the front seat of little machine (two boys in the back) glass everywhere and loved every second of it (except when the pilot banked and I swore, he laughed).  That was something I will remember for a long time, completely surreal…looking down on Uluru and the Olgas was just incredible.

– words can’t always describe what you are feeling.  Sometimes the image in your mind is all that matters, and if you can capture it in a photo, then even better.  What’s the saying about a picture being better than a thousand words. See above experience.

– the writing style of my blog has evolved – for the better I think – as I have been more involved.  Not using it as a second thought.  I am more comfortable with my blogging.

– those that matter don’t care, and those that care, don’t matter.

– and the things that count are love faith and strength.  This had been in the mind for some time, then designed and done before we moved but fitted in perfectly for what was to be the future. 🙂
(Plus tatts on the spine don’t hurt that much really. The picture is only  half of the tattoo)

mirror image.

A brief outline of our 2011 …..

The time had come and the (joint) decision (in January) was made to return to Tasmania in December.  Fast forward a few months and early April sees us on the road, all our worldly possessions in a container making their way south.  We, however took a detour, headed west and then north to Darwin.  To visit friends before they moved, and golly, what’s another 1500kms on top of what we were driving anyway.  Then we headed straight south, through Alice Springs & Uluru to Adelaide and across to Melbourne (via the 12 Apostles & a visit to family) where we caught the boat.
Visiting my sister in Smithton and headed down the west coast of Tas before ‘landing’ in Hobart. Total trip, 7000kms +/- some.  See here and here for more.

House sitting for a few months saw us through til we got a house and now we are settled.  Boys are going to the same school we (my 3 siblings & I) attended, Gr’s 9, 6 and 1 and loving it.  Found friends that were still there from 7 yrs ago.
Hubby starts work again for the same company as Mt Isa but this time flying in and out of Perth, W.A. but working in the Pilbara (middle of nowhere and hot! kinda like Mt Isa, but no township, just a mine).

Doesn’t look like much happened, but you’d be wrong.

And now to 2012:
The new year sees hubby moving – figuratively – back to work in Isa while we stay in the cool greener pastures of Tas.
Boys begin their first and last year of High School (& Gr 2) and my goals are simply to work my beady & bag business, improve and concentrate on my blog (ie: keep things interesting) and maybe learn some new negotiating skills to deal with three strong-willed sons, lol.   A minor addition is to keep up the daily walk (min 3km).  Thanks to Runkeeper I may actually do it! 🙂

My 2011 stats have come in from WordPress and considering I have only been on WP since May, the 60+ blogs, 1400 views and 20+ other bloggers reading me makes me happy 🙂

Keep smiling and I look forward to new and exciting things this year! 🙂

Jennifer

Tell me what you think...

