Vintage and Retro Rock! – Op-Shop Party

A few weeks ago at one of the Woodbridge markets there was a Fab new stall – clothes.  (Check out Audrey & Elizabeth on Facebook)  Now, as you may already know – I LOVE clothes, especially second-hand.  Aside from the price, they’re already worn in and softened, plus if you don’t care for the latest fashions, and are happy to spend time scouring the racks, you can pick up some really good quality pieces.

After having a look through the racks and seeing a few nice things.. like the bright red jeans! the lady told me that she can do home parties… you know the sort, like Tupperware, only clothes.

I was sold.  I took some cards and over the next few days asked around and found there would be enough interest to hold a par-tay.

Date booked, with a friend inviting most of the ladies (I don’t know too many after being away, see here) and myself a few, I got organised with the food.  I am a shocker for these things.  Always have too much food.  If 10 are coming I end catering for 30. lol  I look at it and think, ‘no, I need more’.  So all I wanted was dips, bikkies, egg sangas (everyone eats them, no matter what they say about eggs) and cupcakes.  Easy peasy, and no stress at all.

mini cupcakes - they went down well.

my tomato tarts. I cut them in half for smaller nibbles.

I also decided to make something I had not tried before.  Now I know the rules here, don’t try something new when you have guests coming as it often doesn’t work.  I figured by making my tomato mini tarts early and they failed it wouldn’t matter and no-one would even see them…  They did work and were all eaten.  Not bad I say.

This time around, because I have never had much luck with these types of parties (ie, no one turns up) I was going strictly casual, no stress, not worried at all.  And it worked.  Of course, there are a few nerves before it all starts, but judging by the noise and the fact there were half-dressed women in three different rooms I think it was a success. 🙂   I must say thanks to my son’s here for staying their room with the door shut and behaving.  I am proud of them 🙂  I think the thought of seeing women half-dressed was enough to keep them at bay, lol

The best part about this, and what made it more relaxing was that aside from a small gift for having a party & on getting a booking, there are no other incentives.  It doesn’t matter if people only buy 1 thing or 10.  Or nothing.  Like that’s ever gonna happen.

Before the lady had finished setting up people were looking and some had items ready to try on… that’s how it goes… there was also a congregation on my beading corner with drawers being opened and lots of comments about Christmas, and mother in-laws…

I did have to cull my  pile of clothes… but I am very happy with my purchases… Colorado 3/4 pants, those red jeans, a funky pair of striped pants (fit like a dream and are sooo comfy I didn’t take them off again..), a brown vest (bought to match my skirt), a blue jacket, a red bomber style jacket, and numerous tops.  Ten things for $52… Now you can’t go to any other clothes party and get value like that.  Plus, no one else will have the same items. Unlike, other said parties…

the most comfy (& funky) pants i have worn in a long time 🙂

the other items I picked up. including a pretty floral top/dress, the most gorgeous frilly tanktop, and a great blue jacket.

Two of my friends have booked a party, so come next year, I’m off again.  I have thought of doing this quarterly… wonder what hubby will say.

back to the jewellery… I was not going to promote my goodies as such, because it was not about me, but on having fun and being with friends.  Having said that I sold 2 items, have a hold on another and a tentative booking for some wedding jewellery in Sept next year.  Plus a local lady who owns holiday accommodation has taken a small stack of cards to put in the rooms…

All is good, despite the rain, misty horrible stuff.

Keep smiling 🙂

Jennifer

3 responses to “Vintage and Retro Rock! – Op-Shop Party

  1. What a great idea for a house party. And those tomato tarts look fantastic!

    Like

  2. Red jeans, I’m jealous !!

    Like

Tell me what you think...

