the beginning of a new time….

This blog starts off where another sorta ended.  At the finishing line of our relocation from Mt Isa, Qld to Tassie.  For those of you who wish to see the story about the rest of our trip,  refer to the blog on my website, www.marcatodesigns.com.  I have decided to start a new blog seperate from my website as a seperate thing that includes not just my beading blog but my personal aswell, or vice versa maybe.

And so the story continues…..

One thing I will mention about this trip from here on in, or actually from the time we drove off the boat in Devonport, is that there have been oodles of photo opportunites but have not stopped to actually utilize them.  Two reasons: hubby wont stop for me every 5 minutes and also because we will be here for some time to come and there will b plenty of times to get my pictures.

The trip from Zeehan to Hobart was a troubled one with my husband being sick – or at least coming down with a bug and having that dreaded feeling.  So I have to drive all those bendy roads with a car that has very little suspension and a heavy van making the mid section of my combined length very close to the ground.  This means any bumps in the road a hazard causing me to drive a lot slower than I would be able to normally.

A short stop in Queenstown (35km’s down the road) and we are on the road again.  The road from Queenstown winds, oh about 70-odd bends up the hill before the land levels out slightly and heads towards Hobart.  

There are many places to look at on the way through, Power Stations, small towns and other national park areas. 

We arrive in Brighton to see friends in time for dinner and Lance spends most of it on the couch sleeping.

The next morning we drive south through Hobart towards Verona Sands (our friend’s shack) where we will be staying for an undetermined time.  

the second instalment….

There is no point in my regaling tales of our day to day business – boys to school, us trooping up and down the highway to Hobart, lunching with friends etc etc so from this blog entry I will try and focus on other mundane things…. plus my beads when we are able to retrieve them from storage.

Like I said, life has returned to the mundane with not much happening, hubby is looking for work and seriously looking at the ‘mainland’ for it.  Higher wages which mean getting into a house quicker being the important factor.  This will mean FIFO (fly in fly out) and several weeks at a time where we don’t see him.   As discussed between ourselves, this is a non issue as Lance knows with kids and wife being in a ‘happy place’ he can do this without feeling guilty or whatever…

I have been to a market to see what is available to me, and although the first is a lot smaller than I first thought – wet and mothers day – I will go to the next few and suss them out properly.  I have a feeling that I will do this market anyway as it is a good way to get one’s name out even if sales are not huge.  Sales are but only a small part of business. 

Onto another thought.   Shack, holiday house, weekender… whatever it is that call it, there are several words that usually pop into your head: scrubby/messy, trees, small, lack of conveniences… that sort of thing.  Or maybe that is just me.  Now I am not being ungrateful, I am very appreciative that our friends have let us have total use for an indefinite period of time rent free, but seriously, making a shack look more like a city block on the beach is going a bit far. 

Eight or so years ago before we left, there were several nice big trees on the block, that made it feel country and shack-like. Trees gone, and nice lawn, driveway and numerous sheds in it’s place with more deck and bunk house on the cards, it feels more like a very cramped (even by city standards) town house that is but a block from the beach.  Maybe it comes from my country upbringing, but I find it weird that it is almost like being in town – without the noise of course.

3 responses to “the beginning of a new time….

  1. Pingback: Who am I, why am I here? | Coffee & Camera in Hand

  2. Hey! Look forward to reading your blog!
    It was really nice having you over yesterday. Hope everything settles down soon for you and family and you can have your corner to bead your hearts’ out soon.
    YM xoxoxo

    Like

Tell me what you think...

